Live a Better Future*

Grace Interrupts The Consequences of Your Actions

Timothy Jr.
Sterling College
3 min readOct 6, 2020

--

Photo by Felix Koutchinski (unsplash)

Why should loving someone who did you wrong be a thing? According to Mandy Hale in her novel The Single Woman, “love people who hate you. It won’t just change their life…it’ll change yours.” In other words, never carry around hate in your heart because usually if you carry hate then you could end up feeling like crap. I believe that you could actually change your life as well as the other person as well. I mean if you don’t carry so much hate in your heart you really can live a much better life, more freely. Being able to let some bad things that have happened in the past can go such a long way in your future life.

Growing up I was taught to always forgive and forget and if it was truly bad and I could not forgive then at least keep moving on and not waste my time on someone else’s mistakes. “Mom if anyone would to ever try and hurt you though I would have no other choice but to kill them.” My mother hesitantly says, “Mijo if that would to ever happen and they were to get me, you should never ruin your life goals that you have had.” This puts everything into perspective, like why would defending my family ruin my entire life? Why do so many people believe in the forgive and forget motto so much? Why should we even forget what happens?

According to Bono, Grace “interrupts the consequences of your actions.” In other words, it’s the opposite of gravity. As Simon Weil argues, “Grace is the exception.” Simon Weil states that “Grace fills empty spaces,” meaning Grace only comes in when it is needed. Grace is powerful in such wording, because it will always be with you even if you believe you don’t necessarily need it. It’s like a God type deal, because most people believe that God is very powerful and can protect all of the people because he is always there for everyone and he can even heal the wounded. How is God even become so powerful? How could say something is as powerful as God? Why is Grace the exception? There are many questions that I have regarding Grace and how powerful it could be with a little more practice.

I believe that Bono is very religious because he is very heavily with Grace and how it can in a sort control you. He states that it “interrupts the consequences of your actions,” which is Bono basically saying that without grace there would be no logic involved in any of the actions that you will take in your lifetime. For me when I was much younger I’d always have specific rules that I had to follow in my home holds. But also growing up with two older siblings and you being the youngest can put a lot fo stress on you as they either want to always pick on you or just mess with you all the time. But instead of me acting super crazy I would simply just breathe and actually think that if do do hit back I would get into trouble by my parents, so I have to just be the bigger person at such. young age.

Grace is such an important factor in this world and I believe that we all should be able to have grace and it should help each and every single one of us. We could think before we make any crazy actions or even be able to forget the past and move on to live bigger and better lives. A lot of people in this world could all learn about grace and be better people.

--

--