Is Evil An Alien Virus?*

Fighting our inner darkness

Savion Richardson
Sterling College
4 min readOct 6, 2020

--

Photo by Alfred Kenneally (Unslpash)

I believe that God put something in all of us to know right Because we are born with a sin nature, no one has to teach us to do wrong. It is an alien thing. When I say alien I mean that it comes from a super natural higher power. Miller, the famous author that wrote “Blue like jazz” said,” I started to sin about the time I turned ten.” He also thinks sin is alien.

My first experience of sin was different than Millers. I do not remember my age but I do remember things that I have done wrong beginning when I was in diapers. Being so young I do not know if God considers it sin on my part, but I remember my mom telling me not to run out of the front door. I was probably about two years old. I looked at my mom’s face, looked at the front door,then looked back at my mother. I bolted for the door. I disobeyed my mother, but at the time I was too young to feel guilt. I did not out right break a commandment of God’s, but I disobeyed my mother, laughing while I was sprinting. Was I evil? did I have a sin nature?

There was another time when my mom was getting her hair braided by an African lady. The lady came to our house with her twins. We were playing in the living room while our parents were in another room. The twins started speaking another language, which, for some reason, upset me. I got mad; I slapped them in the face and punched them in the stomach. They squawked, but the adults just assumed we were just playing and making noise.
I remember doing things as a child that may of not have necessary been sin, like urinating on the front of a lady’s car, but something told me it was not right because I did try to hide it. My brother was laughing at the situation but then right after snitched on me. I got a whooping I could never forget. Does this prove I was evil.

I agree with miller that guilt is alien or comes from a foreign land. God gave us a conscience or moral compass to know right from wrong. At the same time I have seen kids play both sides, for example I have seen a little kid say a bad word and someone would say what did you just say and they would smile and say nothing. I have also heard of a little kid saying a bad word in front of her parents and her parents said you cant say that then she smiled and said “OK” indicating she didn’t know it was a bad word that she was not supposed to say.

But I also do not believe that animals are created like humans when it comes to sin and guilt. Our sense of right and wrong are alien because when Adam and Eve ate from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil, their eyes were open and sin was charged to everyone that came after them.

Animals are different than humans. They behave the way they were created to behave, natural animal instinct. I do not believe they are capable of feeling guilt or remorse. Animals were named by Adam, but were not created from Adam. So, they do not have a sin nature. Animals were not created in the image of God either. Animals do not commit offenses. Animals do not break God’s law. When they kill it is off of straight instinct to survive and eat and to protect there family and territory.
We are born in sin and shaped in iniquity according to Psalm 51:5. So it seems that we were guilty before we even committed any offense. So maybe I was Evil as a kid when looking at Miller’s idea of sin. and him talking about lying, I have never been one to practice lying. To this day, it is one thing that I do not do. I remember from a very young age that lying was wrong. My mother told me not to bother a particular item, which I cannot remember what it was. She was about to leave me in the room with the item, but then she doubled back to take the item with her. I remember telling her that I was not going to bother the item. I said,” I not gon’ touch it, I not gon’ touch it. I’m a Tristian.” That’s right I said Tristian trying to say Christian. I was trying to tell my mother that I could be trusted, I was telling the truth, because Christians do not lie.

I believe that acknowledge or feeling of guilt comes from a place of having morals. It is something innate in us not alien at all. Animals do not have a code of conduct. They behave the way God created them and not contrary like humans. They have no principles that they live by in regards to God or others.

--

--