*An Idea of Fantasized Admiration

Shawnn Jr
4 min readOct 8, 2020

--

The Hollywood Psyche

Photo by Aaron Burden (Unsplash)

Love can be defined as a fantasy that people have been chasing the wrong way. Hollywood plants an image of “perfect” relationships in our heads and we think the only way we can find love is that way. The way it is depicted is love due to a random event in the people’s lives that causes them to talk more and more and figure out that they have feelings which may cause a struggled divide between them that ultimately ends up in them being together. However, it could not be further from the truth. Love can be defined in many ways and shown through different methods that Hollywood or famous people depict. As Donald Miller phrases it, “I think our society puts too much pressure on romantic love, and that’s why so many romances fail.” That’s most likely why guys don’t like romantic movies because they know their own love fantasy and don’t want to have their loved one change their view on it.

Romantic movies fill people with an idea of fake love because of the concept they are based off of. The author of the novel Honey, Baby, Sweetheart, Deb Caletti, bolsters that “To an untrained eye, need and love were as easily mistaken for each other as the real master’s painting and a forgery” A person falls in love with another and at the end of the movie they are this picture perfect couple that has grown strong together leading to a happy life. However, most people will not find love that way. Leading to a fantasy that is implemented in people’s minds that they will continue to search for but will most likely not be able to find. That’s where the struggle of ups and downs in a relationship should become normalized. In the movie’s they know their surface personalities and how they look whilst still struggling internally with themselves but in the real world it’s better to know the personality fully of someone rather then part otherwise unpleasant scenarios may arise.

This has led me to believe love is between two mutual parties that grown to know each other and feel for another. This could be as friend, a couple, or family. For me I love my family because of the things they’ve done for me, but I wouldn’t consider them friends. My friends I love in the sense that I will have their backs through most if not all situations and sacrifice the most precious thing I can give, my time. Finally, as a partner, I would love them as all both and so much more. I want to do everything I can to make sure they’re happy and alright whilst also giving them everything I can possible such as my time. Lastly, my happiness, I think giving my heart away to someone is the best thing anyone can do for another. That is why I would give my heart away to the person I would consider to be the love of my life, the best friend I could ask for, and hopefully my second family. They would be considered the best of every world possible for me and I will sacrifice everything I can for them. “The word “friend” is a label anyone can try on. You decide who is best suited to wear it,” is what Carlos Wallace argues is the way people find their best friends.

On the contrary, love is dangerous, it can get somebody into trouble with others and even god if the love they are presenting to the other is misinterpreted. People may not be bestowed with the honest sense of love and have decided to shelter their own hearts to protect against people who may hurt them. This can lead to people that care about the certain person being harmed due to the coldness the person shows towards them.

Taking the term love with a grain of salt should not be considered in any situation. If someone loves you then know that no matter what they will have your back but if the love turns sour then it was more of a lusting than a loving. Lust has become misinterpreted as love because it is a strong temporary desire that is hard to ignore where is love can be seen anyway other then lust. Many relationships have failed de to lust as they become rushed and over exaggerated causing a fault between both parties. All in all, love is important but never take it for granted.

--

--