The Beatdown

Sterling Cobb
Two Minutes of Insanity
2 min readSep 12, 2019

thought 106

Ok so lets say you’ve done your best. You’ve really tried. I mean, you tried like hell. You’ve put in the work, you put in the time; I mean, a LOT of time. Like 10 years and still after all of that life gives you a big middle finger. F**k You.

Yeah ok so you’re suppose to read some quote on a blog like

“the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again” — some smart ass at a dinner party quoting a dead dude that didn’t actually say it

So you change. Well you think you change. I mean, you’ve spent 10 years going in a direction so change is more or less relative at this point.

Things seem to be going well and then “boom” more middle fingers.

What now?

I’ve been reading a book Anti-Fragile which I highly recommend and it talks about, you guessed it, how to be Anti-Fragile. It’s a concept that is pretty straight forward once you have it defined for you. It means to improve when life throws you a few curve balls. No wait, it’s more than that. It means you want curve balls because they are just the kind of ball you’re going to hit.

Another major point is to put yourself into a position where you care less. Or in other words, you only have upsides. It’s a very stoic concept (I guess, I really haven’t studied stoicism)

What a novel concept and it works really well if you’ve felt beaten down. This of course requires change but this time, you welcome it.

So here we are. I’m writing again, feeling beaten yet optimistic.

Stay tuned

-Sterling

--

--