Education and Career Goals

Sterling Holt
Sterling’s Portfolio
2 min readMar 19, 2022

Hello, my name is Sterling Holt and I am currently studying web design and development at UVU. I initially started college at SLCC where I attended for almost three years earning my AS degree in computer science. At SLCC I earned certificates of proficiency in Web Development as well as Database Systems. I transferred to UVU last year and ever since then i’ve been working towards my BS degree with a target graduation of fall 2023!

My main goals as I finish my studies at UVU over the next year is to learn the current technologies most widely used in the industry so that I will be job ready right away after graduation, and to optimize my learning. In the field of web development the technologies used are constantly changing so I must learn how to better educate myself on new things so that I am always ready for whatever project is thrown at me.

An entry level career goal for me is to be hired as a Junior Web Developer. Although Im taking both design and development classes at UVU and I enjoy both, I think I would enjoy being a developer more so I prefer this path. I want to work for a great company using new technologies so that I can learn and improve my skills as I work. Since I won’t be a junior dev forever, I need to start preparing my skills and experience right away.

A long term career goal for me would be getting hired as a Senior Web Developer. I believe that this is the right career path for me, I enjoy web development very much. The aspects of learning new things constantly and problem solving are things in common with Jiu Jitsu which I have been practicing for many years. Because of this, I can apply those skills I already have to web development and make a great career for myself. I can also see myself working for myself and freelancing, but who knows what the future holds.

--

--