Hello World!

Stevie Edwards
Stevie Reads Things
1 min readMay 30, 2018

I am currently working on my PhD in poetry (creative track) at University of North Texas. For the next 9 months or so, I will be studying hard for my subject exams (on 20 & 21st century poetry and contemporary women playwrights), and I am going to share some of the beautiful and interesting things I find during this process. My goal is to post something daily.

I am starting this blog partially to hold myself accountable for studying, and partly because I want to illustrate the somewhat elusive process of what it is like to study for these things. Also, maybe other people will like the things that I think are beautiful and interesting?

I also am going to try to read more literary magazines than I have been lately, and I will be sharing selections from those here. I think part of being a good literary community member is supporting the work of other writers and editors.

I may also share my own publication news from time to time, as well as selections from materials I am teaching, from my own class assignments (I am taking one class in the fall), books and lit mag issues I’ve recently edited, and anything I get to read for “fun.”

--

--

Stevie Edwards
Stevie Reads Things

Stevie Edwards is a Editor-in-Chief of Muzzle Magazine & Senior Editor in Book Development for YesYes Books. She’s a PhD Candidate at University of North Texas.