Graffiti eye on a wall in yellow, red and green, with real pipe tear duct.
Photo by Liana De Laurent from Pexels

Vandals and Good News

Blog: 01 September 2019: Vandals and Good News

Stevie Adler
Published in
3 min readSep 1, 2019

--

I have been distracted, but there is some good news in the pipeline.

Vandals

Two windows on the side of my house have been smashed by some bright spark vandals.

The first time was a couple of months ago so I promptly called someone out to board up and repair. He quoted a total price but would have to come back the next day to do the work. I should have realised something was up when he kept complaining that it wasn’t a double glazed window!

Anyway I agreed to the total but instead of boarding he taped over the cracks and suggested I pay for the work so far because it might be a different person that comes in the morning. So I paid £75 (+ tax = £90) for up to one hours work (5–10 minutes), expecting to see him the next day.

Needless to say he did not return, obviously was looking for more than a single £75 an hour. I did try other glaziers, but couldn’t find anyone else in my area, so, just gave up.

Fast forward to a few days ago, over a weekend another vandal smashed another window. Learning, I boarded it up myself and saved £90!

This experience does make one want to consider Do-It-Yourself glazing.

Bit of the Country in town three feet from window number 2 (Stevie Adler)

All the police do is take down the details, over the phone, and file it. Though this time I did get a visit from the Crime Prevention Officer to give some leaflets and offer advice. One part of her advice was, The Broken Windows Theory:

The broken windows theory is a terminological theory that states that visible signs of crime, anti-social behaviour, and civil disorder create an urban environment that encourages further crime and disorder, including serious crimes.

So, the suggestion is, because I didn’t get the first window fixed, it could have attracted further anti-social/criminal behaviour! There might be some truth to this… I’d better fix these windows pronto. Another police suggestion is to use reinforced glass. Providing more of a challenge to the evolving vandal.

Some Good News

The number of followers to Adlers Writing has hit the 400 milestone. Thank-you every single one of you.

Personal Good News

On the 17th September I will officially become a Published Author in BEYOND: A Paranormal Microfiction Anthology (Dark Drabbles Book 4) by Black Hare Press.

This constitutes my first story to be published, outside of Medium. Put into context: It is just one drabble (100-words), in a book with 99 other authors competing with over 300 other stories! Nevertheless, it is a publishing credit. I’ve got a long way to go to catch up with some of you writers, but this very first credit feels special. Well done me.

I haven’t written much this month because I have been distracted by acts of vandalism — never mind, it’s only money and will never be enough to entirely suppress the good feeling I have of my very first publication!

Laters,

Stevie

--

--

Stevie Adler
Adlers Writing

Writer of Microfiction/Flash Fiction. Teller of Tales. Editor. Creator of Informative Articles and Opinionated Blogs.