New challenges

Tommy Bay
STG UX Dailies
Published in
1 min readNov 6, 2018

A local insurance company decided to take the UX plunge. They’ve started building a user experience team and I’m on board to help get things moving!

One of the great benefits of being a UX consultant, imho, is frequently shifting to new environments, new industries, new problems to solve. Another benefit (hopefully) is that most people expect a UX consultant to come in asking a lot of questions. I like asking questions.

Right now, our little three-man team of UX designers are outlining the product process we want to follow. Defining a process is a bit of a process — every team is different; they have different personalities, roles, responsibilities, etc.

We’re putting something together that we think will work for this team. Then we’ll show it to the developers and stakeholders, get their input, and nail it all down. We want this to help us all align our expectations going forward.

They did throw me a curve ball by handing me a Windows laptop on my first day. I feel like I’m brushing my teeth with the wrong hand. My wife says it’s good for me. She’s usually right.

--

--