Our principles will guide us

Tommy Bay
STG UX Dailies
Published in
1 min readNov 15, 2018
Photo by Jordan Madrid

Last night, I spent a few hours with ten UX Designer colleagues of mine. One of them gave 15 minutes of a presentation he’s building for developers about the principles of web design (it’s awesome, btw). We had an excellent discussion after he was done about copying others’ work vs following rules vs applying principles. It was a really good reminder to me that the goal in any endeavor is best served by understanding the underlying principles.

Today, I’ve been trying to think about the principles guiding our design system; why we are choosing to adopt certain rules and guidelines. I’m sure there are style guides and pattern libraries out there that do a good job of articulating those core motivators or brand truths… but I’m guessing they’re absent more often than not. It’s something to aspire to as we continue to build out our standards, components, and processes.

--

--