My First 30 Days As A Starter at SThree

by Kara Pirolo

Recruiting Life Changers
SThree Careers

--

When you start in a new job, everything is new. The office, colleagues, desk, programmes, procedures and even the taste of your morning coffee ☕

Positive on boarding

I certainly believe that a starter’s perception of a company takes shape during their first several days on the job and will create a clear form by the end of their first six months.

When starters are well taken care of, their levels of stress are reduced. Thus, they are more likely to enjoy the experience, get set into the new job and become brand ambassadors for the company. It is in the best interest of everyone to share knowledge about the company quickly and effectively to have a positive integration.

My experience at SThree

I found out what a good on boarding means when I started at SThree a month ago. I said yes to SThree’s offer one week prior to my start date and the next day I received my planning for my first week. The planning was clear and well structured; I had training, formal and informal meetings planned ahead.

Wauw! This was a first for me; I felt welcomed, cared for and I was less stressed for my first day.

First day

Caroline, my designed mentor, took me under her wing and knew what my planning was: She showed me the office, the tools we will use and most importantly where to get my morning cappuccino! ☕

That day, I attended my first team meeting via video conference where I met my team members, we played a warm-up game and was immediately included in different projects. Hands-on from day one!

Kara and Caroline

First week

I had a very exciting first week: I visited SThree’s office in Antwerp to meet Joy, my counterpart. I also traveled to Lille to meet with my manager, and attended different meetings with different teams and brands within the company. My objectives were also set for the entire month and thanks to all the training I could dive right in!

We all know that first weeks can be exhausting and this wasn’t the exception, but my manager had this planned out already with some early finishes during that week. ✌️

This is us in Antwerp

First month

I loved my first month at SThree! I got to travel, attend workshops, meet new interesting people and had weekly evaluations. And to wrap things up, the entire office dressed up for Halloween.

Halloween at SThree

I felt integrated and I could add value to my job thanks to the help of my colleagues and manager. I can say that my new company on boarded me successfully and I feel proud to work for this company and can live up to their values.

Enough about me — I would love to listen to your own story! If you are looking for a new job or want to hear more about SThree, I would be glad to get to know you.

📧 k.pirolo@sthree.com

👤 Kara on LinkedIn

--

--