A Winning Attitude by Sarah Bovy

Recruiting Life Changers
SThree Careers
Published in
6 min readFeb 19, 2018

--

The world cup is just around the corner and the competitive spirit will soon go through the ceiling 🙆‍. — What a perfect time to put the spotlight on our recruiters who have a contagious winning attitude and create outstanding staffing solutions while excelling at their passions!

Get inspired by Sarah Bovy, Lamborghini pilot doing marketing at SThree, and former recruitment Consultant.

What’s your story?

My racing career started around the age of 12 when I kart raced in a fair for the first time. It was all about the fun at the beginning but I soon realized that the adrenaline and the speed were more than a hobby. Racing was my passion!

This is Sarah in her early years racing

Racing took a lot of place during my teen years. I attended an adapted school program that allowed me to manage my time between racing and studying. At that early stage, I had already figured that I needed to build a life to fit my racing career in.

At the age of 15, I was fully immersed in the racing world and at 18 I was racing in the GT Car Race, a very famous race in Belgium.

Fun fact: Sarah got her driver’s license when she was 18 (as everyone does)… but she had already spent 3 years racing. 😂

A few years later, I graduated from my bachelor in marketing and I started my first professional experience which did not turn out as I expected. I did not enjoy my time in there but I don’t regret a single moment because that bad experience helped me to understand my professional motivations and needs.

Later, I found SThree.

Once at SThree, I started working as a Trainee Recruitment Consultant for JP Gray*. Then, I switched to Real Staffing* where I obtained two promotions and became a Senior Recruitment Consultant in three years.

*JP Gray and SThree make part of SThree’s group.

In 2016, I had the chance to start working with Lamborghini. I spoke to my managers and I was given the opportunity to conciliate both jobs. (Yeeep, both, recruiter and pilot!)

In 2017, I started a brand new part-time job in marketing with Real Staffing. That job allowed me to start my own business in the automotive sector and nowadays I wear both hats, the Real’s one and the Lamborghini’s one.

How does your employer fit your lifestyle?

When I finished my studies, I was upset by the thought of having to choose between a career and my passion. Then, I arrived at SThree and discovered that a “career with no limits” is actually possible.

I needed an employer who could understand that my racing career is very important but it does not mean that I am not willing to commit to the job. My managers at SThree and Real understand my needs and support what I am doing. I am given the flexibility that I require to train and build my dream on the side of my marketing career.

What do you do now?

I am both a marketer at Real Staffing and a coach and racer for Lamborghini all around the world.

At Real, I manage all the marketing related requests coming from offices in Brussels, Paris, Lyon, and Amsterdam. I also participate in the organization of events related to life sciences — It is very variate. I like the fact that one week does not look like another and I’m left with creative freedom.

I ran in many different categories: karting, single-seater, Touring car, prototype, GT …Today, I ride with Lamborghini in GT at the international level.

Tell us more about your passion

I was Belgian champion of Touring Cars in 2013, I participated 4 times in the 24h of Spa, the most prestigious GT race in the world and I am the first woman to join the Lamborghini instructor team.

(BOOOOOOOM 😲)

I love the indescribable feeling that I get every time I cross the starting line with a car, but the greatest thing is being able to share my passion with other people, be it my friends or my fans …

How do you feel like a woman who’s also a Lambo Pilot?

I feel … like a woman driving Lambo … I love what I do! I feel very proud because this is the result of many years of hard work and dedication.

What’s your piece of advice for others who have started their careers and want to follow their passions?

  1. Do not be afraid to share your ambitions with people around you. Your friends, your family, your colleagues, your management. We often think that others will try to destroy our dreams, but it is wrong. We are often positively surprised by the support we can receive from our environment.
  2. Do not wait to be 100% ready, it never happens! At some point, you have to jump into the challenge and if you’re not ready, you’ll learn by doing!

What’s coming for you in the future?

I hope a 5th participation in the Spa 24h race in 2018. I am currently working on it! I will also work very hard on my events and coaching business to keep it growing.

Finally, I hope to continue working for a long time with Real Staffing and SThree. I think I will have never done this good in auto sports in recent years if I had not been so supported and encouraged by my employer.

If you arrived until here that means my manager will not be the only one reading this article :) That is great! Now, let’s have a chat about your career

— > a.duque@sthree.com

or…

Here is the job you’re looking for!

Written by Sarah and Ana

--

--