Donald Trump apologises for admitting to sexual assault in 2005 discussion

stirlo
stirlo space
Published in
3 min readOct 8, 2016
Watch out Mike!

Many GOP leaders and governors are now distancing themselves from the candidate and the fallout

People were not happy after his initial "apology" and Donald Trump came out to speak to the media, 90 minutes late, with an extremely short statement.

Let me dissect this statement, sentence by sentence…

I've never said I'm a perfect person, nor pretended to be someone that I'm not.

  • “Now, I’m perfect,” Trump continued. “It’s perfect, although I gave up two season of ‘The Apprentice’ to do it.”

I've said and done things I regret, and the words released today on this more than a decade-old video are one of them.

  • Is he admitting to sexual assaults?! He certainly has said many idiotic things, no arguments there.

Anyone who knows me knows these words don't reflect who I am. I said it, I was wrong and I apologise.

  • He was on microphone, speaking to a stranger, and I don't want to imagine what he possibly says in private!

I have traveled the country talking about change for America, but my travels have also changed me.

  • Enough to repent for alleged crimes? Become more professional, more presidential?

I've spent time with grieving mothers who've lost their children, laid-off workers whose jobs have gone to other countries, and people from all walks of life who just want a better future.

  • Syrian refugees excepted, and Mexican-heritage United States Citizens, veterans, jobs he has himself "shipped overseas", and others he has not paid;

I have gotten to know the great people of our country and I've been humbled by the faith they've placed in me. I pledge to be a better man tomorrow, and will never, ever let you down.

  • I am not sure how much value we can put on this man's word. Or any pledge he makes. He has promised to "behave better" constantly, and shocks us more each day.

Let's be honest, we're living in the real world. This is nothing more than a distraction from the important issues we're facing today.

  • Most of us are indeed living in the real world, and can open doors too! This is not a distraction, this is an admission of guilt, and the beginning of some serious investigations and re checking of previous victims who have come forward. It may end up like Bill Cosby for Donald Trump, though people did love Bill Cosby before that nasty news broke.

We are losing our jobs, we are less safe than we were eight years ago and Washington is totally broken.

  • Unemployment is down, that's a very vague call on "safe" - does he mean workplace shootings, terrorism, hate crimes at his rallies or something else? Washington is quite solid.

Hillary Clinton and her kind have run our country into the ground.

I've said some foolish things, but there's a big difference between the words and actions of other people.

  • Not sure why Trump is bringing in "other people" now, as he is the one under scrutiny. He says shocking things, every single day, and also acts terribly. He cannot make this statement without sounding like an extreme hypocrite, or at the least, delusional.

Bill Clinton has actually abused women, and Hillary has bullied, attacked, shamed and intimidated his victims.

  • Bill Clinton certainly did sleep around, but was never accused of non consensual sex acts, or pestering, molesting, rape or other such things. Hillary stood by her husband, and has not done any of the aforementioned things. She was a supportive First Lady and kept her cool.

We will discuss this more in the coming days. See you at the debate on Sunday."

I am honestly surprised that the Grand Old Party would allow him to continue as their candidate, but we shall see, Donald, we shall indeed see you soon!

--

--