Donald Trump booed by audience at Al Smith Dinner

The 71st Alfred E. Smith Memorial Foundation Dinner in NYC

stirlo
stirlo space
5 min readOct 21, 2016

--

If you want to watch Donald is on at 14:19 Hillary starts at 32:15

The Al Smith Dinner is an annual white-tie fundraiser for Catholic charities supporting underprivileged children. Both Presidential Candidates attended the dinner at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel, with some light roasting included. They joked around, and tried to not get too political.

Anti-Catholic newspaper cartoon suggesting that the Pope was controlling Al Smith’s campaign

Hillary mostly complimented the achievements of Alfred E. Smith in reducing discrimination against Catholics in the past, and “building bridges rather than walls”, Donald Trump did deliver a few funny lines but the crowd did not appreciate when he started attacking Hillary Clinton. Donald Trump became one of the first known speakers to get legitimate boos from the crowd when he started whining.

Donald Trump did get a massive laugh from the crowd when he referenced his wife Melania Trump’s plagiarism of Michelle Obama’s speech earlier this year:

Melania Trump

“The media is even more biased this year than ever before. You want the proof? Michelle Obama gives a speech, and everyone loves it. It’s fantastic. They think she is absolutely great. My wife, Melania, gives the exact same speech and people get on her case. At I don’t get — and I don’t get it. I don’t know why. ”

He started off quite bad, but it is hard to tell how much of these are actual jokes or complaints. The crowd were polite, but eventually you could hear loud boos from them.

Donald Trump

“the politicians. They have had me to their homes. They have introduced me to their children. I have become their best friends in many instances. They have asked for my endorsements and they always wanted my money. They even called me. Really a dear dear friend. But suddenly, when I ran for President as a Republican, they decided I have always been a no good, rotten, disgusting scoundrel, and they totally forgot about me. But that’s ok.”

“You know, they say when you do this kind of event, you always start out with a self-deprecating joke. Some people think this would be tough for me, but the truth is I am actually a modest person, very modest. It is true. In fact, many people tell me that modesty is perhaps my best quality. Even better than my temperament.” — Crowd laughs with/at hard to tell. A big laugh.

“That’s right. It’s great to be here with a thousand wonderful people, or as I call it, a small , intimate dinner with some friends. Or as Hillary calls it, her largest crowd of the season.”

Just before taking the dais, Hillary accidentally bumped into me, and she very civilly said, “Pardon me.”

And I very politely replied, “Let me talk to you about that after I get into office. “ — some laughter, some groans.

“Last night, I called Hillary a nasty woman. But this stuff is all relative. After listening to Hillary rattle on and on — rattle on and on and on, I don’t think so badly of Rosie O’Donnell anymore.”

Hillary is so corrupt, she got kicked off the watergate commission. — Crowd Boos loudly

How corrupt the you have to be to get kicked off the watergate commission? Pretty corrupt. Hillary is and has been in politics since the 1970’s. What is her pitch? The economy is busted, the government is corrupt, Washington is failing. Vote for me. I have been working on these problems for 30 years. I can fix it, she says. I was not really sure if Hillary was going to be here tonight, because, I guess, you did not send her an invitation by e-mail , or maybe you did and she just found out about it through the wonder of Wikileaks. We have learned so much from Wikileaks. For example, Hillary Clinton believes it is vital to deceive the people by having one public [many loud boos] Mr. Trump: and it is only different policy in private. That’s ok. I don’t know who they are angry at, you or I. Here she is tonight in public, pretending not to hate Catholics. [Crowd boos again]

Hillary Clinton

Hillary Clinton: “I know you were criticised for inviting both Donald and me here tonight. You responded by saying, if I only sat down with those who are saints, I would be taking all my meals alone. Now, just to be clear, I think the cardinal is saying I’m not eligible for sainthood. But getting through these three debates with Donald has to count as a miracle.”

The rest of her speech goes well, she gets a lot of laughs from the crowd, a slight moan when she claimed that the only Real Billionaire in the audience was Bloomberg.

The crowd laughed but there was an audible “oooooh!” when Hillary said:

“Donald really is as healthy as a horse, you know, the one that Vladimir Putin rides around on.”

A very healthy horse indeed

She got a big laugh and smile from Donald Trump himself when she said that “the RNC is not funding either of our campaigns!”

A shame that the event had the negative responses to Donald Trump’s poor jokes or jabs at Hillary, on the other hand, the event generated a record amount of money, near or over 6 million dollars for the charity.

Al Smith, and wife, uncertain date

--

--