Potato Cream Cheese Soup

Alex Whitten
Stirring the Soup
Published in
4 min readOct 6, 2016
Potato Cream Cheese Soup in a bread bowl at Wildflower Bread Company. Just look at that paprika and creamy goodness!

My favorite soup is potato cream cheese soup from Wildflower Bread Company. I remember when I was young, maybe third to fifth grade; I had a phase where my absolute favorite thing was soup. Every restaurant we went to I would scour the soup selection and pick my favorite. It didn’t matter where we were, if it was a restaurant, or if it were lunch or dinner, I would get soup.

But I remember the day I got my favorite soup. My mom wanted to spend some time with me, so we went shopping and out to lunch together. It was a rainy day and we were hungry after shopping during the morning, it wasn’t any sort of outstanding or memorable day when we got to lunch. Once we got there of course I looked at the soup selection. Of all the options I thought the potato cream cheese soup sounded the best. I remember sitting down at a table with our number and just waiting for our food, talking about our day and the weather, how tired we were, what we would do when we got home. I remember getting my soup and wondering what the red dash of something was on top, and my mom let me know it was paprika. I had no idea what paprika was but it was an intense contrast of red against my creamy yellow soup. I remember my first bite and loving the little warmth, taste and strings of potato in it, adding texture and deliciousness to the soup. Plus, it tasted amazing, and the paprika wasn’t an offensive taste at all, it actually perfectly complimented the soup. My young little mind was blown away by how awesome this soup was and it immediately became my absolute favorite.

You can see the little strings and chunks of potato, and of course, plenty of paprika.

Ever since then, when I do get a chance to go to Wildflower, I love getting this soup. I kind of have to get it, it’s amazing and it’s my favorite so why would I get anything else? It just reminds me of warmth and love. It reminds me of the simpler life I had as a child, where my biggest concern was, “what kind of soup should I get?” It reminds me and my mom’s shopping day and me of the time I got to spend with my mom day and bonding with her. It just makes me happy, and having my favorite soup could change a dreary and dull or sad day into a slightly better one because it’s just that great and has that much meaning to me.

Since then I’ve shared and recommended the soup to others. If I’m with them while they get it most people say that it’s “so good!” Some say thank you for the recommendation because, “It’s perfect! Just what I needed!” Through sharing the soup I’ve been able to create even more memories and more little moments I cherish thanks to this soup.

I will never really know if my favorite soup became their favorite soup as well, but I really don’t care. I just love it no matter what, It’s that good. Even talking about it seriously makes me want some. I can smell the potatoes, the paprika and the cheese just thinking about it. I can see me and my mom enjoying it when I was young and me saying, “this is so good!”

Plus it’s a decently cloudy and rainy day out today, so that doesn’t help my craving for this soup. This soup is perfect for wrapping up in a blanket, putting on your favorite TV show or movie, getting all cuddly and then chowing down and feeling all warm and fuzzy. I love this soup so much I would suggest it to anyone. So, the next time you have a chance to go to Wildflower, I really suggest you get the potato cream cheese soup!

If you would like to listen to me share this story, feel free to listen to it on Soundcloud!

Thank you to Praveen for the rain photo, thank you Joel Olives for the flower photo, lastly thank you Windigo for the photo of the soup in a glass bowl. This is a creative representation of the rainy day I got my favorite soup with my mom.

--

--