Soup Nostalgia

Adriana De Alba
Stirring the Soup
Published in
2 min readOct 6, 2017
A classic clam chowder bread bowl from Disneyland, Ca.

Asking me to name my favorite soup is like demanding someone to pick a meal they’d want to eat for the rest of their life. It’s nearly impossible for me to name my ONE favorite soup, and it gets complicated.

One of my favorite soups is a chicken and wild rice soup from Whole Foods. The mushrooms in it make this a delicious bowl!

I’m a big fan of creamy soups, not “brothy” soups. Creamy mushroom, loaded baked potato, and cauliflower are all my top favorites. Now that the weather is finally cooling off here in Phoenix, soup sounds like a great idea!

I have to admit, I have a weakness for the chicken and gnocci soup from Olive Garden. When you combine it with their warm breadsticks, this simple dish alone calls for a trip to the Italian chain-restaurant.

My soup choices are a bit sophisticated now, but my childhood was filled with alphabet soup, tomato soup, you name it! On the days where I felt ill, my mom would cook up a hot bowl of soup with every possible vegetable you can name inside of it! I really do believe that soup is good for the soul. It fills you up with warmth and reminds you of being nurtured during your childhood days.

--

--