Senior Highlight: Hayden Warneke

Michael Murphy
SMC Sports Journalism
3 min readApr 24, 2019
Hayden Warneke makes a run against Cal. Photo by Beckie Harper

Similar to the real world, rugby is all about facing adversity.

Hayden Warneke is approaching his final weeks with Gael Rugby. As a graduating senior, he has grown with the program by his side. However, upon his journey’s end, he does not fear what lies ahead thanks to the lessons learned with the team.

Warneke plays hooker for the Gaels, but his path to the present moment began over 13 years ago. Growing up in Kent, Washington, Hayden began his rugby career in the fourth grade and played multiple years with the Washington State All Star Loggers. While playing with the Loggers, he met some Gaels who put in a good word for Saint Mary’s.

“I met Henry Hall and Kevin Swiryn who told me about Saint Mary’s and after research about the school, the rugby story, and a visit to the beautiful campus, my choice was easy,” Warneke said.

Hayden Warneke and Payton Telea-Llalio lead the way towards the pitch. Photo by Beckie Harper

After coming to Saint Mary’s and playing with the Gaels, it is clear to Hayden that the shared leadership between coaches and players gives SMC’s program a unique touch. Going with the flow allows for each player to use his talent to the team’s advantage.

“I think the skill level and the will to work from every player is what backs this free flowing structure of our program, whether it be in game or in practice,” Warneke said.

Playing rugby at Saint Mary’s is a full-time commitment and comes with many sacrifices within each players social life and free time, but all seems worth it in the end. Hayden’s life has changed because of his decision to play for the Gaels, but most of the changes have been positive for him.

“SMC Rugby allowed me to move down to California and make a big change in my life,” Warneke said. “I consider playing rugby here similar to a full time job because we devote so much time and energy towards the game and our team, yet we still have school and must focus on classes.”

Hayden Warneke advances the ball for the Gaels. Photo by Beckie Harper

The climb to the top is long and arduous. The program asks a lot of each player, but time and time again the dedication to the team proves to be worth the blood, sweat, and tears.

“I think rugby has really helped me in my four years because it keeps me on track to my goals,” Warneke said. “SMC rugby has also allowed me to see more of the world then I ever have before and has taught me to enjoy every experience I am a part of.”

With five weeks left until graduation, Hayden and all of the seniors will have time to reflect on their individual experience with Gael Rugby. One lesson Warneke has taken away is that life is unrelenting at times, but pushing through the hard moments will ultimately benefit you in the end.

“There will be ups and downs with anything you do, but overcoming your failures is the greatest accomplishment,” Warneke said. “The pre-season grind in the hills paves the way for our season. Preparation at the beginning makes things easier later on, I hope to take the skills I have learned with me throughout life and future careers so I am able to consistently perform at my best.”

Hayden and the Gaels take on the California Golden Bears in the West Regional Championship this Saturday at Saint Mary’s Stadium kicking off at 12:00 PM. The winner will move on to the D1A National Championship hosted at Santa Clara University on May 4.

--

--

Michael Murphy
SMC Sports Journalism

I’m a soon to be Saint Mary’s College graduate and an amateur sports journalist for Gael Rugby.