STOICISM

What We Control and What We Don’t

There is much that I own and control. I am not powerless.

Ann Rickert Leach
Let’s Talk About… Stoicism
2 min readJan 8, 2024

--

Image created by Ann Leach

“Some things are in our control, while others are not. We control our opinion, choice, desire, aversion, and in a word, everything of our own doing. We don’t control our body, property, reputation, position, and, in a word, everything not of our own doing. Even more, the things in our control are by nature free unhindered, and unobstructed, while those not in our control are weak, slavish, can be hindered, and are not our own.” — Epictetus, Enchiridion, 1.1–2

I have no control over my daughter’s behaviour or choices. I don’t want it. Even at 13 years old, she is on her own journey. My role in her life is a mentor or coach allowing her to make choices and supporting her learning through those experiences.

I have no control over what others think of me. I have no control over or even own any of my physical stuff. It can all be taken away from me instantly through theft, fire, sale, donation, or by simply giving it away. It will all remain after I am dead.

I am in control of what I say and do, my ability to choose and the choices I make, my opinions, what I know, and my skills. Everything I own is in my head.

--

--

Ann Rickert Leach
Let’s Talk About… Stoicism

Book author and article writer, Unplugged Fun owner; Outdoor & physical activity enthusiast, Living best life adventurer, Curious learner