New Trailer: John Malkovich in “Seneca”

Take a look at the new movie about the life of the Stoic philosopher

--

Is this the Seneca you expected to see on the big screen, or not?

The trailer below has just been released for director Robert Schwentke’s long-awaited movie Seneca: On the Creation of Earthquakes (IMDB). I think John Malkovich is a good choice to play the Stoic philosopher. From what I understand, the movie is a black comedy, which will explore Seneca’s troubled relationship with Emperor Nero. It may come as a shock to some modern readers of Seneca, though, to discover that his life didn’t always seem to reflect his moral principles. See the excerpt from my biography of Seneca below, if you’re interested in finding out more!

Some quotes from the trailer…

They laugh at you! The Stoic preacher of the simple life who got filthy rich being Nero’s ghostwriter.

…a bargain not many good men have made when agreeing to help bad regimes but, you know, I did it for Rome!

Perhaps I can become my best Seneca by playing Socrates.

My Biography of Seneca

--

--

Donald J. Robertson
Stoicism — Philosophy as a Way of Life

Cognitive psychotherapist, author of How to Think Like a Roman Emperor. Sign up for my new Substack newsletter: https://donaldrobertson.substack.com/