The Stoic Response to Coronavirus

--

Fears about coronavirus are growing.

As of today, there are more than 30 countries have 10+ confirmed cases. The CDC notes that “current global circumstances suggest it is likely that this virus will cause a pandemic.” In the Bay Area, where I am currently located, it looks reasonably likely that we’ll see many more cases over the next few months.

The virus appears to be more viral and more deadly than the flu. The risk is most salient for people older than 40 while it is relatively low for younger age groups. It is crucial that the elderly are protected.

At this point it’s likely that, especially for those of us in densely populated areas, our ordinary life will be broken up and disturbed by the virus at some point this year.

How should the Stoic respond?

There’s a lot to say here, but I think there are two key points.

Before that a disclaimer: I am not an expert on these topics. If the CDC says one thing and I say another, the CDC is likely right. If you think I get something wrong below, tell me and I’ll fix it. Moreover, I am in the US, what I have to say is more relevant for fellow Americans. I do not know the state of affairs for other countries.

Be Wise

--

--