What are the Stoic Principles?

Ten Ideas to Practice in Daily Life

--

What are the principles of Stoicism, which can help you live with more control, serenity, and depth? Here is a selection of 10 key principles of Stoicism, which seem to me to be particularly useful to live better, more intensely, and humanly.

banner bulb ideas stoic principles
  1. Accept what is beyond your control
  2. Act with the right intention
  3. Meditate on death
  4. Live here and now
  5. Play the roles assigned by Nature
  6. Be useful to others
  7. Anticipate difficulties
  8. Think for yourself
  9. Contemplate Nature
  10. Love your fate

1. Accept what is beyond your control

I’ve never been hindered in the exercice of my will, or constrained to do anything against my will. And how could that be possible ? I have submitted my impulses to God. It is his will that I should have a fever? That is my will too. […] It is his will that I should get something? This is what I want too. He doesn’t want that? Nor do I.
Epictetus, Discourses 4.-1 (89)

There are things that are completely up to us, others that are not completely up to us. What depends on us are…

--

--

A Stoic Perspective
Stoicism — Philosophy as a Way of Life

🙋‍♂️ I write about well-being, self-development, spirituality, and philosophy through the Stoic perspective. My blog (in French): www.unregardstoicien.com