Strange Cities by Night

William Craig
Stone The Road
Published in
2 min readJun 2, 2015

It always feels odd to meet a city at night. I got into Seattle too late to make its acquaintance. We took sideways looks at one another. Apparently, Seattle decided I was an easy mark, because I was hit up by panhandlers three times in finve minutes.

A few observations: Seattle dresses its subway and train stations in stone chic.

The city is much sweeter than any East Coast burg of equivalent size. Check out these tables and chairs waiting for morning outside Peet’s Coffee.

They’re not chained. They’re not bolted to the sidewalk. In East Coast terms, they’re just waiting to become someone else’s lawn furniture.

This much I know of Seattle. But we’ll know one another better tomorrow, when I lunch here.

--

--