CHARTER TANK

A roundup of arcane and ongoing ‘school reform’ snow jobs in Mass and beyond

Chris Faraone
Stop Corporate Ed Reform
2 min readOct 29, 2015

--

BY CHRIS FARAONE

I attended a social event last week with numerous reporters and political media folk, more than a few of whom made some kind of comment about my dislike of charter schools. My sentiments are something of an ongoing joke in those circles, and have been ever since I figured out about four years ago that I am incapable of faking any attempt to cover the issue objectively.

But back to those media friends. One chum (who prefers that his name be omitted from my writing) advised that I jazz up some of my investigative digging on the charter front. “How about a list?” he said. “People would probably like a flowchart or something along those lines. Talk to them just like you’re talking to me right now, like you do with other topics.”

A charter flowchart is in the works. For now, though, I’m starting with a sizzling compendium that might attract some readers from beyond my typical ed crowd of public school professionals and true progressives. Without further ado, here’s a spattering of sleazy charter school developments that you’re not likely to read about anyplace else. Told casually, roundup-style.

READ THE FULL COLUMN HERE:

--

--

Chris Faraone
Stop Corporate Ed Reform

News Editor: Author of books including '99 Nights w/ the 99%,' | Editorial Director: binjonline.org & talkingjointsmemo.com