Life Gets Loud: How to be an Introvert in a Loud World

Samantha Chaves
Stop, Drop, & Scroll
4 min readSep 14, 2016

Albert Einstein, Bill Gates, Michael Jordan, J.K. Rowling, Mark Zuckerberg and Amy Schumer. No, this isn’t a list of who I might want at my dream dinner party. It’s just a list of some famous introverts. I bet the last one caught you by surprise, didn’t it?

There is a lot of confusion around the word introvert. Some people associate introversion with being a loner or being shy, or think that introverts are weird and don’t like people.

That’s not true! My favorite definition comes from Susan Cain, author of Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking. Cain says introverts are “people who prefer quieter, more minimally stimulating environment. The key is about stimulation… for introverts, the optimal zone is much lower.”

Ahhhh… couldn’t have said it better myself. To me, being an introvert means needing a less stimulating environment in order to recharge. Some people recharge by being around people and thrive on having schedules chock-full of noise. As an introvert, there is nothing more distressing than realizing you won’t have time to be alone and recharge. Sometimes, it feels like the world is set up for extroverts to succeed, where the loudest voice in the room gets heard. The loudest idea doesn’t always make it the best idea.

One place where my introversion gets tricky is at work. Friends, family, and old coworkers all know my personality. They know I like to think things through before making a decision. They know sometimes I’m quiet because I need to recharge. Believe it or not, at times I don’t stop talking. In fact, one of my old coworkers once said to me “I used to think you didn’t talk, but now I know you don’t shut up.” Thanks Erik…

When I started a new job three months ago I thought, this is my chance! I am going to be an extrovert. I tried that for all of 20 minutes and had to stop because it was too exhausting.

Luckily, I feel like I found a home on DigitasLBi’s Content Strategy team. It’s the perfect balance of introversion and extroversion. It allows me to work independently for those times I need to recharge, but I also have amazing team members to work with, learn from, and socialize with (us introverts are social people too!) Not to mention that strategy is in the title! Strategy means thinking through decisions and making well thought-out recommendations for clients based on business objectives — an introvert’s dream.

Content strategy means putting the right content in the right place in front of the right people. A client comes to you with a problem or a project and as a content strategist, you are responsible for coming up with solutions. In my case, I have been a part of website redesigns, working with different capabilities to come up with a strategy to deliver to the client. What I love about this work is the opportunity to step back and really understand the project and think about what you want to create and how to deliver the information to the client.

Having a balance of introverts and extroverts on a team creates something beautiful. There is a perfect combination and balancing act that allows each person to learn from one another. Hang out with an introvert for a while and you may even pick up on some introverted traits. Heaven knows us introverts could use some tips on striking up small talkone reason why elevators are an introvert’s nightmare: how ‘bout them Red Sox?

Here are some reasons why introverts make awesome team members:

· We are good listeners: While people are talking away, we aren’t worrying about what to say next. We are listening to what is being delivered and processing our thoughts. Sometimes we won’t have anything to say, until two hours after a meeting is over, our thinking is done, and we finally have our “Aha!” moment.

· We’re observers: Along with being good listeners, introverts are highly observant. Didn’t see that eye roll during your latest pitch? We did.

· We’re passionate: If you put an introvert on a project they feel passionately about, they will live and breathe that project. Talk to an introvert about one of his or her passions, and you will understand what my coworker Erik experienced… we won’t stop talking.

· We exude calm: Our calming presence can be beneficial in times of professional and personal crisis or uncertainty.

· We work well independently and in small groups: We are no strangers to working alone, but also excel at working in small groups. Don’t be offended if an introvert needs to take a break from group work. They may simply need to recharge in order to be the best possible version of themselves.

So there you have it. A reflection on introverts written by an introvert herself. To all my fellow introverts out there: wanting solitude is not a problem. Embrace it, because life gets loud.

The views expressed in this post are that of the author and may not reflect the views of the agency or company.

--

--