How Can I Be An Observer?

Nine-question interview
with photographer Wanyu Wang.

Rinse
Stories Behind Photography

--

“You’re a part-time lover and a full-time friend,
The monkey on your back is the latest trend.
I don’t see what anyone can see in anyone else but you.”
— The Moldy Peaches

Wanyu Wang is a photographer based in Taipei, Taiwan. When she was still at university, her works were already exhibited in Taiwan, China, Hong Kong and Japan. Despite these achievements, she was never arrogant and remains a humble girl, working hard to realize her dream.

“Anyone else but you” is a photo series depicting the life of Wanyu with her friends. However, it is also a reflection and revelation of her ideology about photography and life.

“Being an observer” is the spirit of her photography.

“Anyone else but you” photography by Wanyu Wang

Wanyu describes herself as a person who is quite afraid of photographing people. She always wants to hide herself silently in a distant corner when observing her surroundings.

“I hate it when I have to ask somebody: Can I take picture of you? And how I wish I could be invisible when I’m shooting pictures……

I just want to see things in my own way, and decide if
I want to keep them in my mind, without over-explaining or talking
on and on about others’ stories.”

“Anyone else but you” photography by Wanyu Wang

#Read the Ful lStory: “Anyone else but you”

Nine-question Interview

Please talk briefly about yourself and how your passion for photography started.
I started taking photos in my freshman year at college. I’ve always had a dream about photography. My father used to be really into photography. I was always curious about the cameras hidden in his dry cabinet since I was a kid.

What does photography mean to you?
I’ve always been an observer. I’ll hide myself from sight and try to peep into other people’s lives. I’ve always been calm and harmless.

How do you define your style of photography?
I think my style is more of a documentation of things in life. I’m more like a little girl behind the scenes, trying to explore the world behind the viewfinder.

What’s the best part of being a photographer?
The best part about photography and being a photographer is that I can capture the moment, and make the moment eternal.

Which photographer has influenced you the most and why?
Nan Goldin. I love the way she shoots photos. I started my photography after I got to know her works. She’s been the biggest influence in my photography.

Can you share the story of one of your works which impressed you the most?

It was a night when I went to Jiu Fen with my college friends and we were playing cards. All of a sudden, the power went off. We were all in the dark, everyone paused, and I took the picture. In that exact moment, everyone froze before I captured the moment. Then I tried to capture the moment after everyone froze. It’s the opposite experience from normal photography.

During your photography career, have you ever been frustrated? How did you overcome it?
I have never been a professional photographer or artist before now. I’ve always had a full time job and photography was just a hobby, an interest. Being a photographer was just another occupation for me. I mean, I tried really hard to be an artist, but I didn’t know if I could survive from it. Recently I’ve quit my job, and I want to become the “Photographer”. I guess we have to see where the future takes me from here.

You also took pictures of performances. Any interesting things or experiences you would like to share? What’s the hardest part of taking these kinds of photos?

Leave it All to December, Staycool, 2012 photography by Wanyu Wang

The hardest part is to keep observing, and try to capture the moment.

Any final words for people viewing the “Anyone Else But You” series?
I hope you enjoy the moments through my eyes.

#You can know more about Wanyu Wang and her works by visiting Her Official Site.

“Anyone else but you” photography by Wanyu Wang

Rinse has invited lots of talented photographers from around the world to share their best works. If we haven’t reached out to you yet, and you also have a great story to tell, please don’t hesitate to come share it with us at Rinse.

For more information or photographic stories, follow us to check out more!
Facebook Fan Page: “Rinse” / Twitter: @rinse_io / team@rinse.io

--

--