20 Simple Secrets For Living a Happier Life

Like anything else, it takes practice to cultivate happiness.

AE
Stories by Aurora E

--

Shutterstock ID: 1392193913

We all want more happiness. Those who are already happy would like to be even happier. A life filled with happiness is a worthwhile goal and readily achievable.

But happiness isn’t just about the big things. There are many smaller aspects that color and shape our lives, whether by adding or subtracting.

Research studies have found that how happy we are in our relationships has a powerful influence on our health. Robert Waldinger, director of one such study and a professor of psychiatry at Harvard Medical School, says, “Taking care of your body is important, but tending to your relationships is a form of self-care too. That, I think, is the revelation.” Source

You can be happier. It’s just a matter of building the right skills.

In 2006, on an evening like any other, I suddenly realized I was in danger of wasting my life. As I stared out the hazy window of a Washington D.C. bus, I saw that time was slipping by.

“What do I really want from life?” I asked myself. “I want to be truly happy.” I had many reasons to be happy: my boyfriend (now husband) was the kind, blonde, handsome love of my life; I had several pets in good health; I had a good job…

--

--

AE
Stories by Aurora E

Writer and editor with a background in animal behavior, journalism, philosophy, psychology & spirituality.