Captain Gas, From Ken Kesey to Steven Spielberg

Andy Romanoff
Stories I've Been Meaning to Tell You
7 min readJan 4, 2017

--

1970, There was a time I was known as Captain Gas. The gas was Nitrous Oxide, and Ken Kesey turned me on for the first time sitting in the Hog Farm bus I lived on, parked in Joyce Mitchell’s driveway in Malibu.

My card in those days, handmade by Howard Cohen. The tiny bus peeking out on the right is the one I was living on

Ken came aboard pulling the big blue tank up the stairs into our old Greyhound, settling it in the seating pit at the front. Someone found a length of garden hose, someone…

--

--

Andy Romanoff
Stories I've Been Meaning to Tell You

One part of me knows it doesn’t matter if you read these stories or not, the other part thinks it might be the reason I’m here.