Now what?

A book just lays there until someone shows it to the world

Andy Romanoff
Stories I've Been Meaning to Tell You
4 min readApr 3, 2023

--

Happy days shooting Hammer Down. I wrote a book because I had stories to tell, but then what?

So you’ve finished your book. Getting there has been the goal but now you’ve arrived. Congratulations, time to celebrate and take a breath because a new and unknown part is about to begin — getting your book out into the world. ‘Cause, even though it’s finished, a book lays there another unseen manuscript until someone holds it up and shows it to the world. Who is that going to be?

I gave myself six months to find an agent or a publisher. You may want more or less time but either way, it’s important to give yourself a schedule. Otherwise, time goes by and it’s hard to see how you are doing. Days slip by while you wait for others to get back to you.

So I set myself that six-month goal, then got to work. I studied writer's publications, scoured the internet for lists of agents and publishers who looked at the work of unknowns, asked writer friends for the names of agents I could approach.

Lists, lots of lists

Once I had my first list, I picked the best possibilities and checked out their websites to see what they were looking for in a submission. Because everyone wants something different and you’re wasting…

--

--

Andy Romanoff
Stories I've Been Meaning to Tell You

One part of me knows it doesn’t matter if you read these stories or not, the other part thinks it might be the reason I’m here.