The Road Trip to Silver City

Andy Romanoff
Stories I've Been Meaning to Tell You
5 min readJun 21, 2021

--

Pilot Truck Stop, Lordsburg, NM — All Photos copyright Andy Romanoff

What the hell was I thinking?

I had a vision for this trip, the idea I could make it as magical as the one we took to Kansas in 2019 (Picturing Kansas) I planned it carefully, looking at maps and studying Google Earth for the old roads and little towns that interest me, thinking that by doing what I had done before I could have the same experience again. Hah! Every day is unique when you travel, actually, every day is unique…period. But somehow I had forgotten that and so I found myself struggling with my expectations. In the end, it was a glorious trip, but it took some readjustment to get there. Come along for the ride, there’s a few stories along the way.

Tuesday 5–11, Los Angeles to La Quinta

Hiway Host motel in Pasadena

I am a romantic about the road. I remember the beauty of the unseen path, not always the reality. Today there were tests for that viewpoint.

We set out from home in Los Angeles planning to follow the path of old Route 66. We were me and Bob Harvey, my friend who loves to drive as much as I love to be a passenger. This so I can scan the road for pictures and yell Stop! at inconvenient locations along the way. Doing…

--

--

Andy Romanoff
Stories I've Been Meaning to Tell You

One part of me knows it doesn’t matter if you read these stories or not, the other part thinks it might be the reason I’m here.