Writing the Hard Parts

Andy Romanoff
Stories I've Been Meaning to Tell You
3 min readMar 27, 2023

--

Finding the way to tell your story

https://store.bookbaby.com/book/stories-ive-been-meaning-to-tell-you

How hard could a book be? I’d been writing for four or five years, published a hundred stories on Medium, even collected a few thousand readers. People had been asking me for a while, “When are you going to write a book?” But I had no intention of writing one until 2018 when I heard a voice in my head saying “It’s time to write a book.” I try to listen to that voice. It’s led me to some fine places over the years.

The shape of the book seemed obvious. I had a lot of stories from the angry parts of my life, the drugs and crazy, the stealing and going to jail stories, but I hadn’t written much about the second forty years of my life. For this to be a memoir I might have to talk about someone I didn’t easily identify with, me as a successful person.

That would be a lot harder because I still identified with the person I hadn’t been for a long time. In my heart, I was still the kid of sixteen, seventeen, eighteen, furious and striking back at the world. Here’s a story from that time. Once, locked up in L.A. County Jail, I was talking to a guard and he said “We don’t get Jews in here. What are you doing here?” and you know what I felt? I felt a surge of pride. I was in my chosen select company, the fuck you band of brothers. Wow, maybe that understanding of me was a little out of date.

--

--

Andy Romanoff
Stories I've Been Meaning to Tell You

One part of me knows it doesn’t matter if you read these stories or not, the other part thinks it might be the reason I’m here.