Photo: WME

Andy Mineo is Finding His Voice

Stories Journal
Stories Journal
Published in
2 min readDec 27, 2015

--

Words: Jackie Wallentin

1. How is “Uncomfortable” different than your previous album releases? Was your approach different this time?

Absolutely. This time around I was really interested in getting away from the anthemic high energy records. Even though that’s what I’ve been known for, I feel like that sound is tired and overdone. I wanted to push myself creatively to try some new sounds and song structures. I feel like I’m still trying to find my distinguishing sound. Uncomfortable was a journey towards that.

2. How do you balance embracing hip-hop rap culture, or pop culture in general, and abstaining from its sinful desires? How do balance being in the world but not of the world?

It’s a regular struggle. A tension worthy of wrestling with. The people I have kept around me have helped me navigate it well. I don’t think it’s wise for Christians to try to navigate uncharted or tempting territory alone. We shouldn’t be “islands.” I also don’t think that Christians should create insulated Jesus bubbles that remove them completely from reality and a culture that is in need of Gospel hope.

3. What challenges, if any, do you face being a rap artist from both the Christian community and those outside the church?

Some of the struggle is the stigmas that come along with the titles. My music is for everyone, but sometimes the art isn’t given a chance because of preconceived notions about who the music is for, what it’s about, etc.

4. How has marriage changed your approach to music?

Marriage has changed me as a human — which has changed a lot of things about the way I make music. I’ve learned more about love, sacrifice, sensitivity, family and God because of marriage. I’m grateful for that.

5. How did you develop your lyric writing? Do you have a favorite place to write?

Getting around other great writers has helped me step up my pen game. Studying artists and songs has also been helpful. I have to write alone. And my iPhone is loaded with notes of song and lyric ideas.

6. What is one thing you hope people understand after listening to “Uncomfortable”?

Not everything in life is black and white. And that’s ok.

© 2015 Walnut Creek Church

--

--

Stories Journal
Stories Journal

Lives made new. An initiative of Walnut Creek Church in Des Moines, Iowa.