Profile: Kodee Wright

Stories Journal
Stories Journal
Published in
4 min readDec 27, 2015

--

Words: Stephanie Kite
Photos: Liz Brown

2015 marks Kodee Wright’s ninth year at Drake University. She has spent four as an undergraduate student, two as a graduate student, and is now in her third year working full-time as the Open Recreation Coordinator. This December Kodee also finished her second semester teaching a first-year seminar course, “Lead Like Jesus,” a class she developed for the university.

Q: How did you come to know the Lord?

Kodee: “I grew up in an apathetic family and was a big reader growing up. I attended Vacation Bible School every summer and this combined with reading caused me to know most of the stories in the Bible. In fourth grade my best friends took me to a believers club and I began going to church regularly on Sundays. My first time to church was a night of all worship, so I was surprised when hour-long sermons followed each Sunday.

In sixth grade, I attended Christ in Youth where I heard the Gospel. I then gave my life to Jesus at an alter call and made the choice to be baptized a month later. I listened to my parents, got good grades, told the truth, but inside I was self-righteous. When I came to Drake and saw people my age living their lives differently for Christ, I became intrigued and realized Jesus wants my life all the time — more than just on Sunday and Wednesday each week.”

Q: How did you decide to attend Drake University?

Kodee: “During my senior year of high school, I was set on attending an in-state public institution in Illinois. I knew I would pay for college by myself and needed to find a cost effective school. I visited Drake the fall of my senior year and realized what a friendly campus it was and received good scholarships. It sealed the deal when a girl from my church back home in Illinois already went to Drake so I would not be completely alone. This friend got me involved in Campus Fellowship at Drake.”

Q: In what ways have you seen God move and answer prayer in your work place?

Kodee: “I get to build into college students and invest in their lives. 90 percent of my waking hours are on campus between work and spending time with college students. I have seen students get involved with Campus Fellowship, come to know the Lord, and then go on to disciple other students. I have had the opportunity to make connections across campus, even praying together with other colleagues and leading a book study program with women in their 40’s. I even began teaching group exercise and have been able to build relationships with faculty and staff in a different capacity.”

Q: What is your first-year seminar course about?

Kodee: “I experienced resistance at the beginning when I proposed this class, but I worked with another professor to revise it by adding materials and rewriting the curriculum. The first half of the course starts with discussing and learning about foundations of servant leadership and eases into discussions about Jesus. This includes how Jesus led and why it is worth leading like He did. We discuss motivation and why we do what we do.”

Q: What do you find most challenging in your job?

Kodee: “My workplace and ministry are super combined. I wear a lot of different hats and sometimes it’s challenging to decide how to act in a given situation. Am I your boss, professor, friend? I have office hours in the residence halls each week, which is a bit unorthodox. Students feel like I am part of the community and am invested in people on campus. I want to get into people’s personal lives and not be afraid of man or what the university will say.”

Q: Why did you want to work with college students at Drake?

Kodee: “Almost everything I have wanted to do at Drake, God has made it happen. I want to honor the university but want to honor what God would have me do and use the position I have for the Kingdom and His good. God has made it so my reach across campus is growing. Every year in March I go to the Lord to see if Drake is where I am supposed to be. I will stay there until I am called to leave. This March the Lord said I could choose. And I chose to stay at Drake.”

Q: What is your involvement with Campus Fellowship?

Kodee: “I am a women’s Bible study leader with students. I want to lead the women leaders at Drake and pour into their lives, but it usually works out I end up investing in the younger women’s lives, which is also enriching. This year I am co-leading a life group with a younger woman and pouring into her life.”

© 2015 Walnut Creek Church

--

--

Stories Journal
Stories Journal

Lives made new. An initiative of Walnut Creek Church in Des Moines, Iowa.