Energy and Optimism Brighten Fulbert’s Future

The Hunger Project
Empowered Lives
Published in
2 min readNov 21, 2017
Fulbert Egbekan. Photo: Johannes Odé

Story by Mariken Stolk

Fulbert Egbekan, 32, lives in the village of Aligondo, Benin. On the site that five years ago housed the old sewing workshop now stands a new, larger one. “I can’t wait to move! Look at the improved space,” he says, showing us the new rooms. “I had this new sewing workshop built with the profits from my company — I didn’t have to borrow anything for it!”

Fulbert continues to show us his new working space. In one room, he will place his special embroidery machines, while the other room will house the regular sewing machines. “Now I have one machine to make embroidery,” he says, “but I want to buy two more. And I have six regular sewing machines. My dream to have seven sewing machines,” he tells us, “has come true!”

Fulbert also runs a sewing course out of his workshop, and his class has grown from 8 students five years ago to 12 today. The students pay a small fee to learn some of the sewing techniques Fulbert can offer. They also receive an official diploma after their apprenticeship ends. “I really enjoy teaching others the trade,” he says.

Fulbert tells us about the Vision, Commitment and Action (VCA) workshops he has followed over the years. He says the VCA’s focus on shifting one’s mindset has had a profound impact on his life over time.

“I have learned a lot about the importance of diversifying my income. That’s why I also bought an agricultural field of about two hectares.”

Today, he grows beans, peanuts and corn for his own consumption but also for trading.

Fulbert with his wife and two children. Photo: Johannes Odé

Looking ahead, Fulbert would like to have a new house built for his family of four. Right now, he lives with his wife and two small children in a rented house right next to the sewing studio. “I’ve set aside the profits from my sewing workshop and have already bought a piece of land,” he says. “I’ll be really happy once we can finally start to live on our own.”

Invest now in the empowerment of women and men like Fulbert and sign up to keep track of our work.

--

--