The Power of Telling Our Stories

Eugina Jordan
Stories of Many
5 min readMar 15, 2024

--

In January of 2021, right in the middle of the COVID-19 pandemic, I took a virtual personal storytelling class. At the end of the 4-month program, all the students were supposed to do a TED-style virtual performance telling our stories on camera in front of live audiences.

Seemed like a good idea at the time, right?

Little did I know it was about to flip my world upside down.

For the first 6 weeks, I worked tirelessly with the coach to write “my story,” which I proudly called “From Russia to the American C-suite.” I am a well-known telecom CMO, I started a new market category, I have 12 patents, I have written over 100 articles in the industry, and I even penned an award-winning leadership book.

Sounds pretty epic, right?

But even after the 10th draft, my “story” felt fake and off, very off. I was at a loss. Then I emailed a draft to a trusted friend of 12 years, and she called me and explained that the very reason it felt fake was that all I was showing was the “triumph” and not “how” I got to it.

So here’s what I was keeping under wraps: I grew up dirt-poor in communist Russia. I endured six years of hell in an abusive and controlling marriage when I moved to the US in 2000. And when I finally broke free, I became a single parent by choice, sleeping on the floor with my two-year-old by my side after we moved out. All while trying to build a career in marketing.

Yeah, it’s heavy stuff.

But you know what else?

It’s real.

And it doesn’t take away from what I achieved in my career and life.

And that is MY story.

Full, raw, unedited.

Why don’t women share their stories more? We put in the work, we go through the highs and lows, but we often do it all in silence, feeling like we’re on our own island.

But here’s the thing: when we finally open up and share our stories — whether they’re filled with triumph or struggle —

that’s when the magic happens.

That’s when we reclaim our power.

And let me tell you, there’s nothing more empowering than owning your narrative.

Like a boss.

Our stories are that powerful “how.”

It’s those “how” moments that shape us, that define us.

And that’s where the magic happens.

So often, society tries to box us women in, telling us to stay quiet, play nice, and be that “good girl.”

By holding back, we hide our authenticity.

So, let’s not hold back.

Let’s share, inspire, and show each other how vital it is to speak up and own our narratives.

Like me telling my story.

Like my “Stories of Many” tour companions did by telling their powerful stories and inspiring many other women to tell theirs in their books.

That is the “why” behind this page and this book tour.

By sharing our

journey,

struggles,

and all

on multiple physical and digital stages, they took their power back; they continue to inspire others to embrace their authenticity and tell their stories.

So, consider this tour a love letter from Eugina, Loren, Ariela, Tash, and Lucy to all of you wonder women out there, helping y’all navigate the choppy waters of career and life with permission to become free through the power of storytelling.

We came together to share their “how.”

Sure, it’s scary putting yourself out there. I know it all so well. That is why I hid my messy story for so long. But our stories are what make us who we are. And when we embrace them fully, without judgment or comparison, that’s when we truly shine.

Like I did. Like women in this channel and the tour did.

And soon, you will, too.

Taking back our power isn’t just about living our best lives; it’s about helping others do the same.

When one of us speaks up, it shows all of us that our

Stories,

Voices,

Experiences

Matter.

When we share our stories — no matter how messy or imperfect — we break down barriers and inspire those around us to do the same.

Our stories light fires; they break molds; they show the world what’s possible when we dare to use our voices. That’s where empathy comes in. When we hear someone else’s story and truly understand where they’re coming from, it’s like a lightbulb moment. Suddenly, we see each other as fellow humans, not just random strangers passing by.

And that’s exactly what this book tour is all about. It’s a treasure trove of authentic and vulnerable stories, each one a chance to learn, to connect, and maybe even find a little piece of ourselves in the process.

So go ahead, dive in, and let these stories inspire you to share your own. After all, your story is worth telling, too, and needs to be heard:

  • To see you as a role model
  • To support women out there with your advice
  • To show all of us how, through being vulnerable about your challenges, you can rise above them and succeed
  • To inspire the sisterhood
  • To let every single woman out there see and believe that they can be anything they want to be, just like YOU.

We need more women’s stories to be told. Like yesterday. By telling YOUR story, YOU help to close the gender gap, the pay gap, the impostor gap, and all the gaps that we, as women, are facing today.

So let’s keep lifting each other up, celebrating our wins, and closing those gaps for you, me, and all of us by sharing and owning our stories.

Because when we, women, share our stories, we stand together, and we can do so much more.

With love and respect,

Eugina Jordan,

an award-winning CMO and author, a Russian-born American, a domestic abuse survivor, a mom, and a wife, and author of “UNLIMITED: The Seventeen Proven Laws for Success in a Workplace Not Designed for You.”

--

--

Eugina Jordan
Stories of Many

Eugina Jordan is a CMO, an author, inventor with 12 patents, and speaker.