Hui-wen Chen
Stories Retold: Taiwanese Artists Series
8 min readSep 4, 2014

--

Stella is from Taipei, Taiwan. She is the owner of design studio “OUT OF RULE” that takes graphic design as well as woodworking requests. She also self-published a book 1, 2, 3 Statues!

Why are you here in Tainan?

‘Cause I love it here!

Why do you like Tainan?

It is more comfortable to live here than in Taipei. There are too many people in Taipei, but even though, you can still feel the distance between people. For example, I live in an apartment in Taipei. We all takes the same elevator, but few of us will talk to each other. Maybe just say hello for being polite. Everyone just live in their own life. House is just a container to live in. The life in Tainan, I chat with my neighbors, we are close. I can feel that we do live together.

What are your tips for visitors coming to Tainan?

Take a walk through the alleys, there’s a lot of them here! Normally I would hop on my scooter and ride randomly in the city without a specific destination. I prefer that over any famous, touristy spots.

What service do you offer in your studio?

I work freelance with my clients, and I design my own products as well. I work mostly on wooden furniture, but I also make models by request.

Why did you start “OUT OF RULE” design studio?

The story dates back to 4 years ago, when problems with everything, including my work, family and personal relationship, suddenly seemed so insurmountable. I was longing for a change, so I was actively pursuing the possibility to study aboard. But as the plan materialized, I started to feel confused and lost. I did not know why I should continue on the path as a designer, and realized that I needed a break. I had an urge to just get away from everything. Right that moment, a friend contacted me about a programm in which a successful applicant can get a chance to travel around Taiwan for free, and there’s one week left to submit the proposal. Suddenly, I was pressed to think about why I started doing design and whether it is something I truly want by the application deadline. It was when I was about 6 months into my woodworking classes so, naturally, my proposal was a series of interviews of people related to trees and woodworking. I also included several things that I had always wanted to do but had never gotten to try, like circumnavigating the island on bike. Instead of using a normal route and finishing in around 10 days, I decided to go in my own pace and learn more about our land.

So, my circumnavigation attempt finally took 5 months, of which 65 days were on the road. I rode across the country, and I interviewed anyone I could find. I was so touched by the people I interviewed. They let me see myself in different light. I rediscovered my true self.

Why are you calling it “OUT OF RULE”? What is the philosophy behind your work?

I call it “OUT OF RULE” to be against any idea, or rules, that we all get used to. I questioned, “What is the role of a designer in our society and life?” If we take an abstract view of the design process, we could summarize the steps into “Design brainstorming > Finalizing for production > Marketing & sales.” Then what does design mean to me? When I recall the life before, for me, design is my job, and my job is to fulfill the request of boss. I did my jobs well, means I’ll get paid well, and it equals to having the ability to afford good life. However, I felt something wrong. We worked day and night, but the products are only for rich people. It seems that design exists only for a few people.

Therefore, I feel like something has to be changed in this.

I wanted to change the methodology of our design process. By living with people and observing them closely, we can discover their real needs. Designers should level their point of view instead of seeing everything from the above. This is the way to understand, find and solve a problem, but it doesn’t always generate enough revenue for a designer. We have to still make enough money for bread, do we not?

Ideally, we will discover the real needs of people by inhabitation, then we will prototype, and have it tried out by the people in need then I adjust according to the feedback and develop the idea into a product for the general audience. A portion of the revenue is then flowed back to the community who needed it most. This is a sustainable cycle to create affordable designer products, benefiting everyone, including the designer, in the process.

Do you have any examples of finished or ongoing work?

Implementation of the concept takes a long time, but it is something that we are actively pursuing. It is our vision and goal. We might still modify the details in the process, but it isn’t necessarily a bad thing.

With the book (1,2,3 Statues!), we hosted a few readers gathering events a la mini music concerts in various parts of Taiwan. Because of this, we were reached out by a social venture to prepare material for a course on design for young kids. For us, this is already a start in connecting with people in need. We will need to develop a relationship based on trust to begin the first phase of our activism. By collaborating with other parties using our experience in design, we can build a mutual relationship that benefits everyone.

Why are you always mentioning “we” when there’s only you in your studio?

That was intentional. “We” means more than just myself, and it is significant in two ways: Even though it is only me at this moment, I always wanted to find more people to join my studio. Furthermore, despite of not having any additional official members, a few friends of mine share the same vision and we meet regularly to discuss our future plans. It is just that our paths are not crossing enough to have them working for the studio.

I guess your life and thoughts must have changed a lot since starting your design studio. What is the most notable? Did your priorities change as well?

I started living alone. I relied on the social part of my life in the past, and did almost everything with the company of my schoolmates or colleagues. Here, after having my own studio in Tainan, I started to enjoy my time alone.

I felt I was empty before taking that trip around Taiwan, and I felt complete after seeing much of the island. So, I had an idea to write a book with the photographs I took during the trip to talk about the transformation. I went to a photography class, met more people felt more different from the past. Back in the old days I always wanted to move back to Tainan, a city I lived in for my 4 years in college, but when it finally happens, the idea of leaving my comfort zone is panicking me. I was scared of the uncertainties, and unsure of how long I could stay and work in Tainan alone. This feeling reminds me of the experience on the trip. I was alone while riding bike, facing unknown on the next turn of the road. This is life’s training on facing the uncertainties. I learn to face the unknown at ease.

People often commended, “You are so brave for being a girl alone on your biking trip around Taiwan!” I actually felt it took more courage to make the decision to bike around Taiwan than actually doing it, and this is exactly why people think I am brave.

Ever since starting my own SOHO business, I realized how important it is to have proper time management. Do you feel the same?

Exactly! My biking trip made me realize how important the sun is to us human beings. We have almost forgotten the experience of waking up and going to bed with the rises and falls of the sun.

Isn’t it like… rising with the lark and going to bed with the lamb?

You bet it! I really understand many idioms during the trip. Back when I was working for someone I really hated getting up at 7 to be in the office at 8. I felt it was a form of micro-managing. Now I would happily wake to my alarm and go to work. Back in the days I would care so much about other peoples’ view of me, and since I could never stay up late to meet or do something with my friends, they would play jokes on my absence that made me wonder whether I am really less energetic. That thought had long been out of my mind and now I just want to enjoy living in my own tempo.

How would you describe yourself?

I feel I might be one that takes things a little too seriously… (laughs)

Out of Rule Design Studio/ FACEBOOK / BLOG

Text & Photo/ Huiwen Chen

Editing/ Ihsuan Lin & Sanford Poon

Originally published in my blog: http://hwchensfotostudio.blogspot.com.ar/2014/06/living-in-tainan-x-interview-001.html

--

--