Nia Malika Dixon
Stories Telling
Published in
2 min readFeb 12, 2016

--

Alice Walker, 1985

#BlackWriters Who Helped Shape My Storytelling

February 11, 2016

The Color Purple by Alice Walker

Alice Walker, The Color Purple

At ten years old, I was transformed. Reading this book changed my life. The Color Purple was my first adult novel. I chose it purposefully. I remember the day clearly. It was summer 1985. I had read all the young adult fiction. Some of the titles I had read twice. I spent almost every waking moment, outside of doing my chores, at the Pimlico Branch of the Enoch Pratt Free Library in my Park Heights neighborhood of Baltimore, MD. I had been eyeing the adult fiction section for a long time. But, the librarian was my nemesis that last year when she realized I was no longer the sweet, little, precocious reader; who had been her favorite pet.

No, I had turned into a criminal mastermind, as I plotted and planned my way to the ultimate heist for me: (Well, not since that big, blackberry bramble raid we staged. Yes, the 80's were idyllic.) getting an adult fiction novel in my hands, at home. At one point that year, I had forged my mother’s name and gotten her library card. See, the adult library cards were barcoded differently, so they didn’t “beep” a rejection when checking out adult fiction. Yes, at nine years old, and bored with YA fiction, I was scheming on how to get my hands on Alice Walker and Toni Morrison novels.

Finally, after waiting for the perfect day and time when a younger, nicer librarian worked the front desk, I got to check out The Color Purple. That riveting storytelling transformed my outlook on life. Celie was an inspiration. ALL of the women were. The story was so rich, I read it at least three times! And, Shug Avery. Character development for me was flipped on its head when I got to know Shug Avery. # BlackGirlMagic #BlackHistoryMonth #BlackWriters #BlackAuthors #Writer #Writing ✨Read more at https://Medium.com/@niamalikadixon✨

--

--

Nia Malika Dixon
Stories Telling

Award-winning storyteller. Film & TV: @AUDAZent Supporter of #BlackMuslimGirlFly💫 @BMGFly Film Fest Founder: @BMGFlyFest https://bio.fm/niamalikadixon