Practical Realism: Why You NEED To Read “Humankind”

“Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”

Story Taller
Stories to Grow

--

Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

Have you ever bought extra copies of the books you love and given them to your friends with that “OMG! You have to read this book!” enthusiasm that expects nothing less than life-changing results?

I did. I still do it. The number one on my list of potentially life-changing books is Humankind, by Rutger Bregman.

“This is a book about a radical idea. An idea that’s long been known to make rulers nervous. An idea denied by religions and ideologies, ignored by the news media, and erased from the annals of world history. At the same time, it’s an idea that’s legitimized by virtually every branch of science. One that’s corroborated by evolution and confirmed by everyday life.” ( Rutger Bregman, Humankind: A Hopeful History)

I love this book soo much that I refer to it as “HumanKind.”
Here is why.

“When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, ‘Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping.”

By teaching us to “look for the helpers”, “HumanKind” helps us to change our perspective on human nature.

--

--

Story Taller
Stories to Grow

Writer, Tantra therapist, and Laughter Yoga teacher. I love writing about life, love, and hope. I dream about starting a holistic retreat center in Portugal. 🙂