The Teacher and the Benefactor

Harshada
Stories To Tell
Published in
3 min readDec 6, 2017

While standing outside a classroom, in the corridor of Morigate ITI, I spotted a girl who clearly stood out amongst the many others . I quietly thought to myself ‘Who is that girl’.

‘This is Pratima*. She is a Morigate alumni and has recently got a government job!’ announced Bismita, a Quest Alliance facilitator who was beaming with joy.

Pratima used to be a very quiet and shy student. ‘Even if I called her out in class to give me the answer to a question. She wouldn’t say anything! Even when she knew all the answers!’ said Bismita as both Pratima and her giggled amongst themselves.

Later when Pratima spoke to me she told me about her journey through the year long ITI programme, she confessed that her biggest challenge during her time at Morigate ITI was to represent herself, how to put forth her thoughts and opinions.

‘When teachers used to ask me to answer any question in class I used to think to myself if I should answer or not.I just would not speak up in class. I preferred to sit in a corner all by myself and listen to what others were saying’.

‘Once Bismita ma’am started taking our class she used to make us do presentations on different topics regularly. After doing a couple of presentations I realised, it was a do it or go home kind of a situation. Slowly, gradually my confidence increased and I was able to represent myself’.

Pratima’s struggle/ battle at ITI was not only with confidence. She had chosen Stenography as her trade. It was not an easy course for Pratima, so much so that she had almost quit it for some time. But thanks to the support and confidence her Stenography teacher showed in her Pratima was able to catch up with the course and do well.

‘Do it! You can do it! Do it!’ she used to say.

After a long year at Morigate ITI, Pratima graduated. She even secured a government job at SSC ( Staff Selection Commission), where she works as a stenographer taking dictation notes and looking after the data entry of all the documents that come to the office. She smiles broadly as she says to me ‘You know ma’am when I went for my first interview that was the first time I did stenography with a pen!’

The reason why Pratima stood out to me in that corridor is because she carried herself differently to those around her. That radiance on her face ,the happiness of securing a government job (a dream job for most girls I interviewed) and her self-confidence had set her free to achieve all.

But none of this would have been possible without teachers such as Bismita who willingly commit themselves to their students in the few hours they get with them. It is because of teachers like Bismita who with great dedication prepare for lessons, tailoring them to student’s needs and trying to make them as perceptive, interesting and fun so that students like Pratima can shine!

This is what a teacher and benefactor situation looks like!

*names have been changed

--

--