Get Busy Writing or Get Busy Publishing

Mickey Hadick
Story Stories
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readApr 14, 2023

--

Image via Stencil

Last week, I thought I was done with my novel. Even if I had been done, I knew there was lots of “stuff” to do to take it to the next step in the process. Specifically, I needed to package it up to send it off to beta readers.

The week took a hard turn when I realized I needed to write down a story I was going to tell at a Moth event so that I’d have adequate time to revise and rehearse. It’s only 600 words, but the short ones are the toughest to compose.

Then multiple social events caught up with me and friends came to visit during Easter weekend. All my preferred time to write was otherwise occupied.

What is more important, the novel wasn’t as finished as I thought — which I describe in this week’s story-story.

The problem of too many commitments

I write two other newsletters over on Substack: Look Busy, and The Nemirovsky Method, and I didn’t get to those last week, either.

The writing overflowed to this week, causing several moments of despair. It’s not like I have anything promised to me for writing here, there, or anywhere, so why bother?

Odd Inspiration

I came across a quote by Sartre:

It is no use whining about what I might have been, I am the things I have done and nothing more.

So I decided to merely write the various newsletters when I had a chance. An act of doing will define me, and I want to write short stories, novels, and these newsletters.

I was relieved of my regret (at least temporarily) and looked forward to when my schedule would allow me to do these things.

And now I have.

Going Forward

I’m pulling together everything I’ve learned about creativity and storytelling to give it all back to the community.

So If you’re tired of watching others create and you want to finally join in the fun, sign up for my newsletter, Creativity for Fun and Profit and I’ll send you a free course, Awaken Your Creative Abundance.

--

--

Mickey Hadick
Story Stories

Novelist of suspense, sci-fi and satire. A student of the art and craft of storytelling. Expert on productive creativity, web publishing, and dirty limericks.