How to Fall in Love with Writing Over and Over Again

Staying a “writer” makes staying married look like a walk in the park

Mickey Hadick
Story Stories
Published in
4 min readApr 23, 2023

--

Image via Stencil app

I’ve had one of those weeks where busyness took the place of my creative productivity, and it became a struggle to feel like a writer. I couldn’t make significant progress on the one new story I’m planning, and didn’t circle back to the essays that have been on hold for months.

These low-output times are the second most dangerous time for a creative writer, as the resistance can overwhelm the desire to work, and you may abandon all efforts. “It was just too tough,” you say, and quit altogether.

I’ve quit like this twice before, dragging myself back to the writing desk only after long, soul-crushing absences. But I’ve learned a few techniques that keep me in a writer’s headspace no matter how busy things get.

So how busy were you?

This week, I had to “do my taxes” because I’d delayed them until the bitter end. I also helped my adult son do his, and there went the better part of two evenings.

I accompanied a friend to Costco because of a great deal on the exact electric lawn mower I’d been looking for. The excuses for such distractions are always similar, but I need this thing, it’s on sale, and he…

--

--

Mickey Hadick
Story Stories

Novelist of suspense, sci-fi and satire. A student of the art and craft of storytelling. Expert on productive creativity, web publishing, and dirty limericks.