More about storytelling cheap tricks

Mickey Hadick
Story Stories
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readApr 16, 2023

--

Image via Stencil App

The Week in Creativity: Apr 16, 2023

I started this week three newsletters in the hole. I was late on Look Busy, The Nemirovsky Method and Story Design Essential Truth. On Monday, I was frustrated. Like, why bother if I couldn’t keep up?

I decided to take it one day at a time, and return to fundamentals. I worked on my creativity foundations in the morning, writing morning pages, cartooning for creativity, and ejournaling.

It made me feel better about the day ahead.

I worked on one newsletter a day, which left time to work on the Moth story I’m going to tell live next month, and to advance my novel.

Everybody has a plan…

I still had too many obligations scheduled. On Wednesday evening, my wife and I went to the local film festival and watched a block of short films. On Friday we drove to Flint and watched The Magnificent Seven, a new musical about the 1996 women gymnastics team. On Saturday, we drove to Ann Arbor to attend a music show by Scary Pockets.

…until you get punched in the nose

None of this would be a problem except I have a day job and there’s no way around those 40 hours each week.

Story Ideas

But watching the short films and seeing the musical helped me think about the stories I’m working on. That’s what I talk about in this week’s Story Design Essential Newsletter. I also read a few great short stories this week, but watching films and attending a live stage production underscore what matters: cause and effect, and the emotional journey that underpins the physical action.

The Story Story

I’m going through my own emotional journey. It was about eight years ago that I decided to renew my efforts at writing novels. I took courses, attended workshops, read books.

I’ve worked with coaches, teachers, and mentors.

Putting the finishing touches on a novel felt good. I won’t get feedback on it for a couple of weeks, but I feel good about the progress I’ve made.

I’m looking forward to continued writing, and I hope you’re making progress on your journey, as well.

And this week’s story-story shares a bit of what I’ve learned, so check it out!

Going Forward

I’m pulling together everything I’ve learned about creativity and storytelling to give it all back to the community.

So If you’re tired of watching others create and you want to finally join in the fun, sign up for my newsletter, Creativity for Fun and Profit and I’ll send you a free course, Awaken Your Creative Abundance.

--

--

Mickey Hadick
Story Stories

Novelist of suspense, sci-fi and satire. A student of the art and craft of storytelling. Expert on productive creativity, web publishing, and dirty limericks.