One Way to Learn How to Write Stories is to Tell Stories, Like with Your Voice

Mickey Hadick
Story Stories
Published in
Sent as a

Newsletter

2 min readMay 2, 2023

--

Image via Stencil

In my Story Stories article this week, I discuss my upcoming appearance in a Moth GrandSLAM. It’s live storytelling. No notes. Just you, your story, and an audience.

It’s a hoot, and you should check it out.

The stress of public speaking has dominated the past month. I’ve gotten other things written but I want to do well, so I’ve given a lot of attention to the short, true story I’m about to tell.

I don’t worry about being in front of a crowd. That I’m used to.

I worry about getting the story right because you don’t know how many times you get to tell a story.

Novels, Short Stories, and Screenplays

It’s the same thing with longform writing. You may only get a few chances in your life to impress an audience and launch a career. Or impress an agent, publisher, or producer. It behooves you to do your very best each time.

Whether the story is short, long, or in between, you should always take it seriously and put in your best effort.

I suspect most folks understand this, but it bears repeating.

Story Stories Too!

I also have a story story and it’s not even about me. A friend of mine is a successful novelist, and she generously shared her story idea process.

Take a look and I hope you enjoy it!

A True Story but you Have to Tell It Live and In-Person

Thanks for reading and happy writing!

--

--

Mickey Hadick
Story Stories

Novelist of suspense, sci-fi and satire. A student of the art and craft of storytelling. Expert on productive creativity, web publishing, and dirty limericks.