Elevating the Spirit with Disney

Review

Staringaleđź’«
Story Lamp Reviews
2 min readAug 30, 2024

--

Photo by Jayme McColgan on Unsplash

Movie Stats: Descendents written by Sara Parriott & Josann McGibbon. Directed by Kenny Ortega. Released on 31st July 2015.

This is a movie that caught my attention when I was surfing through the internet and today I finally got some spare time to watch it. Getting comfortable on the couch with a mango milkshake in hand I hit the start button. Let me share my opinion on it.

The first thing I liked is the bright colors because almost all of the movies are like if they are made in te dark and you have to increase your TV's brightness to actually see what's going on and then there are scenes in the movie that causes you decrease the brightness - and this battle between increasing and decreasing the brightness just cause you to loose interest in the movie.

The musical number: 'Rotten to the Core' is very catchy and so are the VK s. I think the VKs stole the limelight of the show. Personally I like both Mal and Evie characters. The purple haircolor of Mal and her dressing - simply fantastic.

The story is also brilliantly put together. It better than those stories that are haphazardly but together and make no sense. It is simple and compelling to watch.

The musical numbers, comedy moments, good guys, bad guys, love, action, jealousy everything is balanced in this movie.

All in all I would say it is musical fantasy. Showing how the children of the renowned villains navigate high school and try to carve out their own identities. As the story unfolds we see the struggle that the villain kids (VKs) are facing while trying to live upto their parents legacy but at the same time trying to break free from the villainous past.

I would say it is not a superficial teen flick because in addition to lighthearted components the movie is filled with there are some deep concepts like friendship, loyalty and self-discovery.

I think it is a perfect choice for a fun and enjoyable family movie night. Do you agree?

--

--