Hell Yeah or No-The Best Decision Making Tool Ever?

Todd Davidson
Story Lamp Reviews
Published in
4 min readAug 6, 2023

Derek Sivers is one of those authors who I feel must have my brain under a microscope when it comes to me listening to his views.

His ‘hell yeah or no’ concept is often naively judged because people take the title as literally as Tim Ferriss’ book, The 4 Hour Work Week, without actually taking the effort to read it.

My first appreciation for the hell yeah or no concept came during my masters in strength and conditioning.

I flunked my A level mocks and decided that if I failed the *Evander Holyfield, I would throw everything into making a career from boxing.

Giving up my **4am sprint sessions that had previously jet lagged my body meant I had enough mental capacity to pass my A levels. Fast forward 5 years, I had to use 5 summers worth of lifeguarding to fund a masters in an area that I hadn’t even heard of during my A levels, but that I now hoped would allow me to work with the GB Boxing Olympic team: strength and conditioning.

When I was offered the chance to undertake an unpaid internship with the GB Boxing strength and conditioning team it meant I needed to find thousands to relocate to their Sheffield base.

Robert Kiyosaki (author of a Rich Dad, Poor Dad) explains that telling yourself, “I can’t afford that” switches your brain off, asking “how can I afford that?” forces your brain to start kicking out ideas.

Rich Dad Poor Dad changed my financial outlook forever, click the image to read my summary

My unfair advantage was being able to live rent free in London (thanks Dad)…and then charging London PT rates to coach my second ever paying client. Since I was lifeguarding at a leisure centre with a gym at the time, I also managed to dodge paying rent to the gym as well.

Unfair advantages are a culmination of circumstances that are difficult for others to replicate. Everyone has them, click the image to find a video that will help you discover yours

By training this second ever paying client at 5am twice a week, when I was offered the chance to join GB Boxing’s strength and conditioning team…I said hell yes.

Despite needing to find another few thousand to relocate to the English Institute of Sport’s Sheffield base, I was never going to turn down the chance to work with now Olympic medalists Joe Joyce, Joshua Buatsi and Frazer Clarke…but in order to get this chance I had to say yes to any potential opportunity that I got a sniff of:

· Athletic testing of youth netballers in Bradford…I’m there

· Middlesex Cricket club need someone to do their warm ups for their under 11s…I’m there

· Relocating to Durham when I could’ve spent another year in Nottingham with my missus …I’m there

If you are early in your career, and you see your career as a calling, rather than a job, you need to see every yes as a lottery ticket. The more lottery tickets you buy, the greater chance you have of winning.

Assuming you have earned the right to say no, in part 2 I’ll be explaining why every decision you make needs to be a hell yeah…or no.

If you’re anything like me, and you hate saying no even when it’s in your best interests, I will be explaining how to tactically oust yourself from situations you’d rather not be in…all whilst preserving those ever important relationships with those whose opinions you care about.

*If you’re not a boxing fan, Evander Holyfield’s nickname was Evander ‘The Real Deal’ Holyfield; luckily I passed the ‘real deal’ of my A levels

**You can find out more about those mistakes, in episode 1 of the Platform to Perform Podcast. Practical Applications for the Conditioning of Boxers

***In episode 3 of Show Your Work I explained the concept of unfair advantages, which are a set of circumstances or experiences that are difficult to replicate, but can provide exponential leverage to your success.

For more of my personal development content, check out my YouTube channel

Todd Davidson

@todddavidsonp2pcoaching

Giving you the Platform to Perform

p2p Coaching Patreon page

www.p2pcoaching.co.uk

--

--