Spirited Away And Its Timeless Magic

How the Oscar-winning Studio Ghibli animation can shape people all over the world

Carol Dantas
Story Lamp Reviews
4 min readDec 10, 2023

--

Still from Miyazaki, Spirited Away

Film: Spirited Away Year: 2003 Genre: Adventure, Animation, Fantasy Rating: PG Director: Hayao Miyazaki

Review Contains Spoilers*

Spirited Away was the second movie I watched at a theatre. It was in 2003, and my mother brought me to see a masterpiece that would forever change our lives.

The movie was written and directed by the brilliant Hayao Miyazaki. It changed how people would see animations afterward.

With a runtime of over 2 hours and 5 minutes, its magic surpasses most of what I watched up to this day.

It tells the story of Chihiro, a ten-year-old girl who feels devastated. Chihiro and her parents are on a journey to move to a different city. As a young girl, she dreads having to start all over, leaving all her friends and relatives behind.

Her father, a stubborn and adventurous man, decides to take a shortcut. They then get lost, only to meet an abandoned and quite mysterious tunnel.

Still from Miyazaki, Spirited Away (3:57)

Hungry and lost, Chihiro’s parents believe entering and exploring to be a good idea. Not long after, they find an empty restaurant filled with delicious food.

The adult world believes money opens every door regardless of its consequences.

The result of that chapter catapults our protagonist to a journey she will have to face alone in a land of spirits. There, she loses her name, which becomes the property of a dangerous witch, Yubaba. In return, she gets a job, which may be the only chance to save her parents.

There, she meets Haku, a young sorcerer who shares a powerful connection with her.

Spirited Away contains plenty of adventures. Still, Miyazaki uses contemplative shots that add breathing room to the narrative. It is a mature movie, confident in its pace and story.

A true masterpiece.

Still from Miyazaki, Spirited Away

“If You Completely Forget…You’ll Never Find Your Way Home.” (Haku)

What makes Spirited Away special is not only its remarkable frame-by-frame animation done by hand. It is not only the beautiful paintings by masters such as background artist Kazuo Oga.

Spirited Away is bold. It invites us to look at ourselves and question why we abandoned the purity and bravery of childhood.

It talks about identity. It reminds us of who we are and who we can be. Our roots and affections are part of who we are, but that is only a fraction of what we can be.

People we meet and connect with help shape our core, and, even if we forget it, they will still be part of our chemistry. They will be part of us when we react to something. When we use one of their sentences, or even when we smell their scents.

“Once You’ve Met Someone You Never Really Forget Them. It Just Takes A While For Your Memories To Return.” (Zeniba)

Chihiro’s journey reminded me of my journey as someone who once was much more insecure. Her decisiveness and loyalty taught me to be more resilient. She taught me to face my fears and trust who I am.

I still remember the feeling I had when we left the mall that day. Seven-year-old me was mesmerized even though I did not know how to name that feeling. Different frames would rush into my memory as I imagined myself as brave as Chihiro, facing the unspeakable Yubaba.

Spirited Away was one of the movies that made me love stories. Its break-taking soundtrack still plays in my head from time to time. For this, I am forever grateful to Hayao Miyazaki and Studio Ghibli.

As I grew older, I rewatched it many times, and its meaning morphed into something each time. I find myself unable to rewatch it without a new lesson or without it populating my dreams again.

Lost memories might not be that lost after all.

Spirited Away is available on Netflix

Rating: 10/10

Each week, I write more about writing and teaching. If you want more tips to spice up your journey to becoming a better and more efficient writer? Check my profile.

I can’t wait to have you there as a new connection.

--

--

Carol Dantas
Story Lamp Reviews

Teacher, Brazilian writer, and endless learner. Using words to make life more interesting. Exploring the seas of my own mind, all the time.