Unique experience in Seoul: Pottery Class

Fernando Moon
Story of Eggbun Education
3 min readApr 19, 2021

--

Hi guys! Sasha from Eggbun here!

We here at Eggbun hope that the COVID-19 situation will become better soon, so you guys will be able to visit Korea and see all its beauty! Until then we will continue posting about some cool places, to prepare you for your visit ;)

Recently I visited a Pottery class in Seoul and I wanted to share this experience with you!

The studio Sagayo is situated in the Gangnam district of Seoul and offers one-day and regular pottery classes. As we first arrived at the studio, we saw the classroom full of different cups, bowls, and other pottery. The teacher was very friendly and explained to us about the class and asked us about the pottery we would like to make. My friend and I decided to make a cup and a yogurt bowl.

The first part consisted of working with a pottery wheel. We were able to make the desired shape of both a cup and a bowl. It was really fun to try different shapes and to see which one looks better. The teacher said that the shape of the pottery often resembles the character of the one who made it.

In the second part, we made a handle for the cup. I personally enjoyed how we were able to choose any shape possible. I made a more square shape, while my friend chose to make a really special bow-shaped handle.

And lastly, came the coloring part!

And ta-dah! Here’s my finished piece! But actually not really… They will bake it and cover with protecting materials :) The all-done pottery has a really beautiful ivory color, so I’m very excited to see how my cup and a bowl will turn out!

I really enjoyed every moment of this experience! It was fun and easy to follow and having this special bowl made by yourself really means a lot!

Check out their Instagram page for more beautiful pottery:
https://www.instagram.com/mysagayo/

--

--

Fernando Moon
Story of Eggbun Education

I've studied 6 languages. Failed to learn 3, succeeded in the other 3. I got a deep insight about language learning. Now I try to implement it by helping others