14 Photographers Defining Story Through Their Lens

Sarah Brase
Story On
Published in
4 min readSep 9, 2016

With one simple question we asked 14 photographers to do the impossible: Choose a single favorite photograph they have taken and describe what they love about the photo.

You can imagine this would be an overwhelming task for those who sort and store thousands of photos.

What we received displays their definitions of beauty and story captured through their lens. Each photograph proves that a story can be experienced, engaged with, and captured so uniquely– causing a moment in time to stand still in the form of infinite color, vivid lighting, and striking subjects. These photographers turn moments into memories and snapshots into timeless stories.

Follow along as we individually share the full story behind each photographer’s photo and how you can engage with more of their work.

1. Amanda Tromp

©Amanda Tromp

“…She’s a dreamer, a rapper, photographer, poet, and basically the coolest teenager I know. She completely posed herself for this picture.”

2. Nour El Refai

©Nour El Refai

“…Suddenly, while my eye was still on the viewfinder, I saw a young lady holding a hand and dragging another girl across my frame, they were running, both in amazing colorful dresses.”

3. McKenzie Coyle

©McKenzie Coyle

“…I’m always trying to outdo myself with every shoot and that’s something this recent shot encompasses for me and it’s something I’m proud of.”

4. Cassidy Brooke

©Cassidy Brooke

“…It’s rare to find couples that are so wrapped up in each other.”

5. Mark Darrough

©Mark Darrough

“…I came to understand the power of a photograph: this one, it seemed to me, captured the enormous love and respect of his classmates, and the piercing pain they felt that day.”

6. Ryan Waneka

©Ryan Waneka

“…They will never have that same moment again, but I was able to capture it in an image that they can always look back on.”

7. Shaye Fitzgerald

©Shaye Fitzgerald

“…I am captivated by the preservation of moments, and I am enamored by movement and authenticity.”

8. Carter Moore

©Carter Moore

“…The view of a slide takes us back to a time when we were carefree and had little that weighed us down.”

9. Megan James

©Megan James

“…I told them to stop worrying about me and to get down in those leaves. I was going to get the shot of the day no matter what it took.”

10. Ben Ward

©Ben Ward

…“Most of my favorite photos are ones that evoke some emotion or memory in me.”

11. Daryl Love

©Daryl Love

“…The city was so alive. I wish I could send this to them but we never exchanged words.”

12. Emily Coffey

©Emiy Coffey

“…We were driving through 50-mph winds and saw these incredibly serene wild horses amidst the chaos.”

13. Mike Seehagel

©Mike Seehagel

“…The vast, empty and white landscapes of winter gave me a lot of time and inspiration to disconnect and just sort of be at mercy to the weather.”

14. Sarah Cornish

©Sarah Cornish

“…I clutch her tighter than she knows. I hold her so tight– I lose my breath. She is lovely. She is so lovely.”

More to come as we release the full description and story behind each photograph. You won’t want to miss this.

--

--