Stories Through Blogging: Island Tribe

Sarah Brase
Story On
Published in
2 min readOct 6, 2016

We connected with a number of our favorite bloggers and asked them to share why they do what they do.

Why do you blog?

I created my site, Women Who Live on Rocks, as a way to celebrate the humorous quirks of the island lifestyle. So much of what’s written about tropical islands is all about how it’s paradise here– but I don’t believe there is such a thing; the whole picture was not being painted. Not only was it important to me to share a more realistic and playful perspective of life on a rock, I also wanted to represent the full arc of the island woman’s experience, which is why I shaped it as a multi-author blog. We have a wide range of women from many different backgrounds writing for the site and our community has a ton of fun relating to one another on our Facebook page. Being a part of a tribe who gets what you’re going through– whether it’s a repulsive roach infestation in your kitchen (yup, that happens in “paradise”) or a drop dead sunset that still manages to take your breath away after years of living here– that’s what it’s all about for me. I finally found my tribe, and that’s why I blog!”

Chrissann Nickel, Women Who Live on Rocks, http://womenwholiveonrocks.com/

Chrissann started her blog to share the reality and full perspective of island life as she knows it. She has formed a community of contributors with many women writers who all provide a sneak-peak into the quirks of the island lifestyle.

--

--