Stories Through Photography: Motion

Sarah Brase
Story On
Published in
2 min readSep 28, 2016
©Nour El Refai

We asked 14 visual storytellers to share a favorite photo along with a description of what they love most about their work.

Nour El Refai is an architectural photographer in Egypt who has been a part of many documentary projects and assignments in Egypt, Morocco, Algeria, India, and Turkey.

What do you love about this photo?

“This photo was taken in Nizamuddin Dargah, a mausoleum of one of the world’s most famous Sufi clerics, Nizamuddin Auliya. It’s part of a story titled, ‘Women of Nizamuddin.’ What I love about it is the framing that happened in a split of a second. I was sitting on the floor in front of those amazing old women in the large crowded court of the mausoleum, I kept taking photos for a while but I felt that their background was just an empty space of marble, I didn’t feel the photos were interesting enough. Suddenly, while my eye was still on the viewfinder, I saw a young lady holding hand and dragging another girl across my frame, they were running, both in amazing colorful dresses, I snapped a few quick shots and I just knew I got the shot. I liked the framing and the composition, the blur of the young girls showing the fleeting moment, against the stillness of the old ladies, I also like that I can see traces of Henna on both of the girls hands, indicating they were both celebrating an event.”

For more of Nour El Refai’s photography, visit http://www.nourelrefai.com .

--

--