Stories Through Photography: Reflection

Sarah Brase
Story On
Published in
2 min readOct 5, 2016
©McKenzie Coyle

We asked 14 visual storytellers to share a favorite photo along with a description of what they love most about their work.

McKenzie Coyle is a portrait, lifestyle, and fashion photographer in Colorado. McKenzie uses her creative visual style to capture moments of elegant design and spontaneous adventure to showcase the organic beauty found in each subject.

What do you love about this photo?

“What I love about this photo is the personal progress it represents for me. I’m always trying to outdo myself with every shoot and that’s something this recent shot encompasses for me and it’s something I’m proud of. I started seriously pursuing photography a little over a year ago, and the progress I’ve made is fun for me to reflect on and also pushes me to keep learning and becoming the best I can be. I also love the natural light in this photo and how editorial it looks. I love incorporating editorial elements into all of my work, but I love shooting fashion because it often comes with more creative freedom in comparison to other portrait work.”

Stories come in many shapes, sizes, and mediums and impact everyone deeply. A simple photo captures a story in beautiful ways. The stories we tell shape the culture we live in and we want to highlight photographers using their talents to tell the stories that matter.

For more of McKenzie Coyle’s photography, visit http://www.mckenziecoylephotography.com/ .

--

--