A Relaxing Day Hovering Above Atlantis

Could this be the long lost world?

Jess Astra
Story Saturday
2 min readJul 11, 2024

--

A relaxing day cruising around on a magic wooden plaque. Are you ready to soar the sky with an open heart?

A girl facing forward, sitting at the edge of a wooden plague, hovering 10,000 feet, overseeing the ocean and clouds
Hovering 10,000 feet above the ocean on a wooden plaque sure gives you some perspective. (Generated by StableDiffusion, edited by Author)

I thought I was floating. But as I looked down, I realised I was actually sitting on something that resembled a flying wooden plaque. It was as large as a dinner table for 6. How did I end up on this magic table? I have a million questions but the view simply took my breath away. It was endless. The sky and the ocean, with their endless shades of blue, wove together the most picturesque serenity. Having lived my entire life in the hustle and bustle, I was lost in the tranquillity. There was no noise except for the ocean gently lapping against the shore. Wait… so I looked down.

I was hovering above a cliff that resembled the towering gates of an ancient city, something straight out of Game of Thrones. It looked like I was at least 10,000 feet above the ocean! So high that I could see some clouds. It was a frightening height, and at first, my heart skipped a beat. But after a moment, I wasn’t scared anymore.It was as if I remembered that this was something I did every Tuesday morning. Oh wait, I could actually control this plaque with my mind! All these new experiences were so thrilling and fresh. I felt so relaxed, cruising around in the gentle breeze.

It felt natural to lean forward and pinch to zoom in on the ocean below. Either it was a screen and I was in a fully transparent spaceship (weirdly with wooden floor), or my eyes were equipped with a zoom function. Either way, I saw a gigantic, roundish almond shape beneath the deep blue sea. There were also what appeared to be remnants of buildings on it. Could this be what the legends said?

Just as I leaned forward, trying to figure out what the underwater remnants were, I woke up. Why take me to this place on a magical piece of wood but not let me go closer? The legend has it that the people of Atlantis led to their own demise. Perhaps this utopia, as described by Plato, only existed in fantasy. Even if it had existed, all that was left was just shapes and shades.

What a quick tour! Thanks for giving this a read (hit that CLAP!!). What do you think of Atlantis or utopia? Let me know in the comments! Always love a good discussion. Follow me on Instagram for more :)

--

--

Jess Astra
Story Saturday

Photon accidentally travelled to Earth. Amateur human being passionate about the cosmos and minds